Us!

Well, call us crazy or smart!  The choice is yours.  It has been a heck of a year so far and my little family has decided to make changes.  Let me tell you a little about my family.  There are three of us: me, my husband and our son.  This year we have been through major changes and we decided to roll with those changes and make the best of them instead of letting them get in our way.

My husband lost his job back in March. It was not his dream job.  He didn’t really care for the “boss” because there were inconsistencies through the whole employment.  But, he took the job last year because it was an at-home position and he was able to save money on gas, clothing, etc.  Hey – it worked!  We were all happy with the arrangements.  But then the contract ended and he was out of a job. I have seen this man sit for hours upon days doing nothing but filling out applications.  He has went on numerous interviews.  The outcome was always the same. He was either overqualified, under qualified OR over educated.  Didn’t have the right certifications, no clearances, etc, etc, etc.   Here it is November, and he is just now working in a temp position – not even what he went to school to do.  Not paid as much as he should be paid, but it is a job and we are very grateful and blessed that he is just now working.

Two other huge life-changing events happened this year.  First, my husband’s father passed away in June.  This was very expected.  He had been in a nursing home for a long time with Alzheimer’s.  We had a long time to prepare for “that day”.

The next came in August.  We were sitting in our living room one night when one of my cousins sent me a private message over FB.  “Has anyone called you yet?”  I wrote back and told her no.  Then I picked up my phone and tried to call her, many times.  Intuition kicked in and something told me that my dad was either in trouble or was not here anymore.  Finally when I did get her, she told me that she was sorry to tell me, but my dad passed from drowning. This was unexpected and I am still, months later, trying to process the whole thing.  To me, it just wasn’t his time.  But I am not the one who is in charge of when a person moves from this life to the next.  I will just say that this has left me with a huge hole in my heart and life.  I have had some break contact with us because of things they do not understand.  It’s really sad because this is a time when we should all come together, not split apart – especially with the persons daughter!!

One thing is that we were able to pay off my dad’s camper, which was the last place he and our son enjoyed time together.  If he could have seen our sons face when we went and got the camper and brought it halfway across the good ole USA, he would have a smile on his face.  Dad loved taking fishing trips in his camper.

We were faced with a dilemma though.   It was getting harder and harder for us to make ends meet.  We had a lot of good Samaritans during this time that helped us pay our rent, but this had been exhausted.  So, this temp position was in a town a little over an hour from us.  We tried to have hubby drive back and forth for a little bit, but the gas money was just not there.  This is where the “crazy or smart” comes in.  Actually, with the few people we told, they all stated how smart it was that we decided to do this.  We were applauded with our decision.  This is how we became the Perpetual Campers.  That’s right folks, we moved out of our three bedroom, two bath, 1200 square foot apartment and into a 27 foot fifth-wheel camper.  We do not know how long this will be for, but we see it as an adventure.   This will be a place where we can document this journey and maybe meet other permanent campers or help guide other people who want to make the transition to downsize.

Thank you so much for reading and I do hope that you will stick with us during this expedition with wheels.

The Perpetual Campers

6 thoughts on “Us!

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 11, 2015 / 1:51 pm

    What an interesting story! I’m in! I look forward to following your blog. You’re living the life we’re looking forward to living. Best wishes on your journey and God Bless you all! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 11, 2015 / 2:25 pm

      Thank you so much Kay. I must admit that years ago, this was not even a thought in our minds. lol When life gave us the whole unemployment situation, we just had to make a decision on what was most important to us. I have been a stay-at-home mom since our son was born. It was more important for me to remain home with him and continue to homeschool him than it was for us to make another paycheck. We prayed hard and believe that this is the way God wanted us to go. Once again, thank you for reading and the best wishes. God Bless you all too!!

      Like

  2. tigerofmyheart January 4, 2016 / 9:40 pm

    awesome decision and so happy I came across your blog. I am so sorry about the loss of your dad ✨ I am sure he is super proud of you and your little family x

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife January 4, 2016 / 10:25 pm

      I am glad you came by too, because now I have found yours. It really was the only decision we could make. It provides the necessities. I sure hope dad is proud of us. I think he is. Thank you for saying that and for the condolences. I have been missing him terribly bad the last few weeks. Thank you for stopping by and leaving encouragement! Xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. vanbytheriver May 1, 2016 / 9:14 pm

    Decided to go back to your beginning. It makes perfect sense to me. You have a lot of courage, and no doubt will learn a lot in this process. Especially about what/how much we all need to be happy. Kudos to you, PCW. ☺

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 1, 2016 / 9:31 pm

      Thank you Van. We are getting more accustomed to having little space and no privacy! Lol. One never knows what they are capable of until they have hard decisions. Just striving to survive!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

