On the road again….

The drive back to our apartment was a lot easier than the drive to Fort DeSoto.  We did not hit rush hour! Once again, we parked behind Lowes since we are unable to pull the camper into the apartment complex.  We loaded up the car with dirty clothes, food and anything else we could think of to just get it out of there.  The boys and cousin walked home while I drove everything back to our apartment.

It was a joint effort to get everything inside and then the showers started.  Cousin, son, me and then hubby.  I was so happy to be back in my house.  We didn’t have much of a time that we could rest though. We knew that Lowes would not continue to allow us to keep the camper there, and we had no idea if it would even be safe overnight unattended.

This is when we decided to go ahead take the camper over to the Orlando area for storage.  We had already made the command decision to move to Orlando.  It just seemed like there might be more opportunities for hubby to start working again if we were there.  Another thing that draws us there is that the acting school our son attends is there. Yup, that’s right.  Our son wants to be in movies.  We decided last year to go ahead and foster that dream than stymie it.  He can be anything he wants to be, as long as the desire is there.  Orlando just means more opportunities for son and hubby, period!

After we had rested up, we jumped in the truck and drove the camper over to Orlando.  Did we stay another night?  Yes we did.  Lol  We found a campground that does not have a whole lot of thrills to it.  It has over 200 sites, a pool, a laundry, a social hall, a big field to play sports in it, bathhouses, and absolutely no high speed internet.  It is nice and inexpensive, which is our budget right now.  They had just raised our rent up to $1350 a month for a 3 bedroom, 2 bath apartment.  We needed to be realistic.  We have had people (friends and relatives) and our church help us during this time with paying rent, etc.  But we decided that we had an opportunity to save money and pay people back sooner (than later) if we went ahead and gave up the apartment for the camper.

As a parent, sometimes these are decisions you just don’t really like or care to make.  But our son can see that we are willing to do anything to make sure that we stay together as a family and will not put ourselves into further financial strain just for the fact of having a “premium place to live.”

Here sits our new “condo on wheels” in its new lot where we intend to keep it for a while.  Poor cousin had no idea most of her trip was going to turn into a camping adventure. HAHAHAHAHA

IMG_0129

We were back up the next morning and were heading back to the Tampa area to our apartment.  I will admit that this is when it really started to hit me that we would be moving from 1200 square feet down to maximum 250 square feet.  I started to have a little bit of anxiety about it.  We are going to have absolutely no privacy!!  What are we going to do when son goes to bed? We are night owls.  We cant stay out where he sleeps at and watch tv all the time.  He will not get good rest.  Then, as a married woman, the thought of intimacy came to mind.  Ummmm, how is that going to happen if there is no door at the bedroom area. Lol  I know, I know, let nature take its course.  Let me just say – we got it figured out!

I only say this because there has to be other married couples out there that wonder some of this too, especially when they are downsizing.  The best thing is to just live and let go.  Let go of all the baggage you are holding onto and just do it.  I will talk more about moving our things into a storage facility on another post, but it was purging and therapeutic all at the same time.

Cousin and I start working on packing up the apartment.  I did not really want to do this. I was tired – emotionally and physically.  I still was not dealing with my dad’s death (and still haven’t 90+ days after the fact).  There are other things that have kept me from dealing with it – like the fact of how some of his family has acted toward me.  I know that this is all emotional garbage that needs to be taken out, but it is really hard when you are moving on top of it.  Cousin and I would work a little, and watch TV a little then work a little.  I was not making a huge dent into the packing.

Coming up next, we are on our way back to Orlando for a few days.  I wonder what we are going to do while we are there??  Is it all going to be fun and games or are we there for work?  Stay tuned and thank you for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

9 thoughts on “On the road again….

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 15, 2015 / 9:44 pm

    You are really handling this well. That is crazy rent! I thought ours was high. Um, not even close to yours. We’re in one of those tightly HOA controlled communities, sort of looks like a Smurf village, in a 3 bedroom, 2 bath, cutie pie house, and it’s only $825. If it wasn’t for the high unemployment in this area, I’d suggest you move to Palm Bay! Looking forward to what’s coming next for you guys! Prayers for the Perpetual Camping Family! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 15, 2015 / 9:51 pm

      It is crazy rent and when we moved into it, my hubby was making enough to pay it. It was hard, but it was paid. They also did a bait and switch on us 2 days before we moved into that complex. We had picked complex “A” a month before and had told our other landlord that we were moving out. Complex “A” gave us the apartment number and we went to look at it. I was soooo happy to learn that it was gutted! We were going to get everything new. We went back over the next 2 weekends to check on it, and found it was still gutted. We went back on Monday night (we were moving into it on Thursday) and noticed – it was still gutted. They hadnt done anything to it. Called them on Tuesday morning and, after all day, they finally told us in the afternoon that the unit wasnt ready and we could pick another on the 3rd floor. The one we had picked was on the bottom floor. We had a piano, there was no way we could move it. So we were stuck moving into a sister property that was $300 more a month. UGH!!! If we could have found a sweet deal like yours, we would have, but we only had a day to find something. The apartment management company was nothing but problems since. We were there a little over a year and it has ruined me for renting properties!

      Liked by 1 person

      • kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 15, 2015 / 10:57 pm

        I hear ya! I think that’s why I have the RV dreams. No commitments. Just pick up and go at the drop of a hat. It’s no fun dealing with landlords. I was astonished at what we had to go through to rent this house. It was like BUYING a house. What a hassle! Wasn’t like what you went through though. Sheesh! :\

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 16, 2015 / 12:14 am

        WE had never been through anything like that before. This management company was the first time we had ever been “switched” at the last minute. If we could have stayed at our other apartment – we wouldnt have given them a flipping dime of ours.

        Like

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 15, 2015 / 9:53 pm

      Hubby has looked all over the state of FL and still hasnt found anything in his field – even PBG. 😦 He might have an interview with a company next week – in Tampa. lol We might be on our way back to that area. One great thing with living in an camper – you can move at the drop of a hat.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 15, 2015 / 10:53 pm

    You guys really are tenacious! Are you looking in any other state? Because seriously, Florida has been a heck hole when it comes to working conditions. The first 3 jobs Hubby had were so beyond the scope of unethical that if it weren’t for our son wanting to stay here, we would have been gone. This job is better, but there’s some things going on that I can’t talk about right now, but hopefully will be able to in a few days.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 16, 2015 / 12:13 am

      It has! No, we havent looked elsewhere because our son is breaking into the entertainment industry. There are only a few places we can go for him. That would be here, Atlanta or California. We are not ready to look in California yet. We dont feel he is ready yet for that. Atlanta might be an option that we will look at soon if hubby doesnt find something here. I could tell you so many stories about work from my time and my hubby. I have been a stay at home mom since we had our son, and we both are dedicated to keeping me home with him or I would have found something to help out. But the job market here totally SUCKS!

      Liked by 1 person

      • kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 16, 2015 / 3:07 pm

        That’s for sure. Our lease is up at the end of January and I am praying that we head west. I think that is so cool about your son! I was always trying to encourage mine to do something in that area. He is extremely funny and is a master of voices. But he is not comfortable doing his thing in person at all, so he does online cartoons and only does skits for family and friends. I keep telling him, let’s get to L.A. He’s almost 30. What’s he waiting for??? It sounds like your son is quite self confident for him to be taking acting lessons. I couldn’t even get mine to join drama club in school. I like your planning. You’re taking risks and going on adventures! This site is awesome PCW! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 16, 2015 / 3:38 pm

        We broke our lease this time. It was just at a time when we couldnt pay it anymore. I was in Aldi one day with son and he told me that he wanted to be an actor. Of course, I had seen it in him back when he was a baby. People would come up to us in the mall when he was a baby and tell us that he was just beautiful and want to take a picture of him. He is a little ham. I wasnt sure if he was going to like it or not. We took him to the school, registered him and then immediately went to one of the universities for an audition in a low budget film. He was cast in the only child part! More of that to come in todays post. Life is an adventure and we have to live it to the fullest. My life was almost taken from be back in 1991. I dont take anything for granted now. I have had a lot of pitfalls and have always managed to climb out on top, this adventure will not be any different. I am so glad that you are enjoying the blog. I thought I had a story to tell and it just proves to me now, that I do. ❤

        Like

Leave a Reply

