Quiet on set!

Well, Sunday was a very interesting and fun day for us campers.  Nope, it had nothing to do with camping.  Our son was selected to be an extra on a film that is filming right here in Orlando.  He had filmed on Wednesday and they asked him back on Sunday.  YAY!!!

The film is called Robo-Dog 2.  Usually, the adults are in a holding room, but they put us on the actual sound stage this time.  The last time, they had coffee for everyone along with water and soda.  Hubby and I only had one cup before we left our condo on wheels.  I had gotten up and made us all breakfast, coffee and packed a lunch box with snacks too because the email confirmation had said that we should bring snacks just in case.  So I packed a few lunchables, crackers, oranges, bananas and hummas.  I am so glad I did because around lunch time, we were starving.

Hubby and I broke out the hummas and crackers and demolished it. Lol  We pulled son over during a set change and had him munch on a lunchable.  Today, I only had one water with me.  Hubby went on the hunt earlier for coffee and was told that there was not any on set. Bummer!  He went over to McDonalds and purchased he and I a cup each.

Son was used in just about each extra filming that was done. I don’t know if he got any facetime on camera. I can only assume he got some.  This is the first time I have been able to see a bigger production go on and WOW!!!  There are a lot of rehearsals, resets and reshoots.  Move this person here, that person there.  It truly was an amazing thing to watch.

robodog dad zach
Son and Hubby

Even though we had snacks, we were getting a little hungry.  About 330, we were told that the crew would have catered lunch first and that extras would eat after them.  The reason for this is so that the crew could reset everything while we were eating.  It was perfect time management.  “Linner” (Lunch/Dinner) was served around 415pm.  The best is that it was catered from Olive Garden.  Son absolutely LOVES Olive Garden. Lol  You would think he was in heaven.  They warned everyone, since there was a lot of people, to just take a little and come back for extras.  Of course, you have to know that son would do the exact OPPOSITE of what they wanted.  He was piling his plate full of spaghetti noodles.  I heard the management trying to get his attention and oh my how embarrassed I was.  I took some of his and put it on mine.  Mouthed sorry to the management and we went and sat down. I do not eat a whole lot of pasta, so I ended up giving him some of mine.

After dinner break, they were back at filming.  When they were not using the kids, most of the kids were playing with some type of hand-held device.  Ours included.  He had his tablet with and would gather with the others and play games.  We mad new friends and were able to network really well this day.  Son had so much fun. One thing I am learning is that they keep it cold on set. I brought a jacket/cape type thing with me and used it most of the day.  After dinner, one of the other dads made a coffee run to McDonalds again.  I slowly drank it because it was keeping me warm.

Toward the end of the night, I was talking to the actor who is the main character and son started yelling at me to “Come on, mom, come on, they need a parent NOW.”  So off I went and was pulled into the extra world. Lol  Yes, I became an extra as well.  We were outside the building and had to rush in.  We did several scenes while outside. It was already 10pm and we are going through a cold snap here in Florida.  I know I know, not as cold as some of you are – but cold for us.  Son had on a long sleeve shirt with shorts and tennis shoes. I had on a thin t-shirt and shorts with tennis shoes.

We were finally done around 1115pm and could leave.  But not before son and I were popsicles. Lol  We retrieved hubby only to find out that one of the other moms (while we were outside) had asked him if he wanted a more comfy chair because he fell asleep and started snoring. LOL LOL LOL  We all got into the car and son and I could not breathe.  Yup, that cold weather had really triggered these colds that we have. UGH!!  But the show must go on and that’s why we stayed instead of throwing in the towel earlier and going in.  It looks like I may have gotten some facetime too. Lol

robodog mac
Son and Mac who plays Robo Dog.

We stopped and got each a cheeseburger – which I don’t like to do, but at 11pm and only having two real meals – we were HONGRY! Hehehe  We got back to our little condo, ate, changed and fell into bed.  We were asleep within minutes.  Yesterday, I really felt the brunt of the cold weather. I felt like crud and didn’t leave our condo very much.  Son didn’t feel well either, but he was busting a gut to get outside and play with some of the other kids since they are out of school for Thanksgiving.  Today, hubby is in that “fog” that we have been in.  I feel much better today, but still yucky.

Thank you so much for reading!  I hope you are enjoying our adventure in a camper.

The Perpetual Campers

 

2 thoughts on “Quiet on set!

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 24, 2015 / 7:05 pm

    HA! You were cold! 😀 I know what you mean. We went out yesterday morning and it was the first time I had been cold since we left NY last January when it was 10 degrees. I even had to wear a sweater for the first time! So glad you’re feeling better. I’m starting to. 🙂 Fun stuff ~ the movie! Totally cool you got to be an extra too! Boy, you guys really are on an adventure. I see LA in your not-too-distant future! Enjoy! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Perpetual Camping Wife November 24, 2015 / 9:34 pm

    It was so cold on set. Then going outside, it was even cold there too. When we got in the car, it said it was 61 outside. I like cooler weather, but not when I have been cold all day. But it was all good. Thats what one goes through when they want to be an actor. It was fun. Son had a blast and said that it was one of the best of his life so far. It was really cool being an extra. I have always said that I am not the actor, but once in a blue moon – its fun. lol If this eventually leads us to LA, we at least have our home already!! lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

