Redecorating the bedroom.

This is probably going to be a short one today.  Yesterday was spent at home doing absolutely nothing but watching TV with my two guys!  We did step out for a minute to get milk and a few other things.  But for the most part, we were at home all day.  Son hit his eye on a cabinet door corner.  Ok, well it was in-between his eye and his temple.  He was very lucky it didn’t hit either of those places. Of course, it formed a huge lump.  As my nurse-aunt would say, “Better out than in!”  We kept him near us and just made sure that nothing was going on with him.

eye

Right before we moved in, we decided that we wanted to bring a little bit of home into our camper.  We wanted to make it ours.  My dad was not into decorating or changing anything.  He was very happy just to leave it the way it was.  He did not require much when it came to things like that.  I, on the other hand, would not be content to leave it as is.

The last time I was in the camper was with my dad, years ago.  He had traveled to FL for our sons birthday with it. Son spent a whole week with dad while I was working.  They would go swimming and eat ice cream all day until it was time to pick him up.  The camper is factory everything.  Even the bedspread is the same from the factory.  Walking into the camper after my dads death has just, well…….

So coming into the camper now to live in, I just wanted to make new memories and make it ours.  I am not trying to erase dad, but I wanted to make the camper just different enough so that every time I look around that I am not looking at memories only.  Sometimes, memories will just bring a person into a spot that we don’t need to be in.

Hubby and I found a problem with the camper that we needed to rectify.  There is just too much natural light coming through.  After becoming a mom, I have found that I do not sleep!  The smallest thing will make my eyes pop right open.  We decided to put black-out curtains into our little bedroom.  I found the smallest, cheapest ones at Walmart that they had.  I brought our bedspread from the apartment and put it in the camper.  Thankfully, this bed is the same size as the one we had in the apartment.  I was able to bring everything from our apartment into the camper!

Our bedspread was a find!!  I bought it last year at Goodwill for $12.  Well, mom bought it and it turned out to be too big for her bed so I confiscated it.  Lol  It is an off white color!  Sheets are blue and some of our pillows are chocolate brown.  We decided to go with chocolate brown curtains.  The bedroom already had factory curtains installed, but they were a pinkish color.  I removed them and put up the other curtains.  The new ones were way to long, so I cut them in half.  I had purchased two panels.  One for each window.  But when I cut them in half, it formed two more panels for us to use!  These pictures were taken a few weeks ago, and I have added a little bit extra to it, like personal pictures of son.  But this is basically what it looks like now.

There is still a lot of natural light coming in, and that is going to be corrected soon.  The light coming through the living/kitchen area is a problem for son.  He said that it is waking him up.  I think he has been waking up at 530am every morning we have been in the camper.

Well, we are off to the library so that hubby can do his homework.  We have internet here, but he is not able to get onto the portal for school. We just don’t have enough data with dial-up!  Have a great day.

The Perpetual Campers

2 thoughts on “Redecorating the bedroom.

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 28, 2015 / 5:43 pm

    #1 Healing prayers for your son! Hey, he can get some girl empathy from that thing though. Girls get all mooshy for a guy that looks like he got socked in the eye! 😛 #2 Natural light. I know people love that in homes. I do not. I don’t like when it reflects off surfaces. My eyes prefer shade. 🙂 #3 Great idea on the curtains! And I understand about wanting to make it your own. I understand about not wanting to get stuck in certain unpleasant memories. 😦 #4 It looks great! Enjoy your weekend! & P.S. #5 You have dial up in your camper??? I can be pretty clueless on these things …

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 28, 2015 / 7:11 pm

      Oh he is playing it up with everyone!! lol It looks a little bruised today, but he is not complaining. We dont care for a lot of natural light either. I will open the curtains and let light in, but I like it to be dark too. We have always saved $$ on our electric by using black-out curtains and keeping them closed. We dont have to run the air as much and it helps keep it cooler in the house. Thank you!! I thought it looked pretty good too and it doesnt look like all the other campers out there! It has its own distinct look. lol You enjoy your weekend too! I think we are going to take it easy, after we get back from the library. Ok, quick lesson on internet. DSL is done through your cable. Its one of the fastest connections! We had brighthouse at the apartment and had no problems with internet connection, speed or upload/download. We now have centurylink. This is done through a phone line. Its technology that was “new” back in the 90s or so. The speed, connection and upload/download is super slow. What once took me 2 seconds now takes me about 30 minutes. Sometimes, I cant even connect to the internet or I loose my connection while trying to do something. Its not because we are in the camper – it is because the campground does not allow any DSL providers into the campground!

      Like

Leave a Reply

