Playground antics

Yesterday did not end without incidents!  Son was at the playground playing for some time.  All the kids group up there and play well together.  Or so I thought.  Against my better judgement, I have let son go to the playground without me the last few times. One little girl told him that she was going to dislocate his shoulder and break his arm if he didn’t go away.  He came to me and told me what was going on.  Hubby was involved in a final test for his class and couldn’t get involved.  This type of talk is unacceptable to me and I will not let another child tell any child that!

I went to the playground to find out what was going on.  Another little girl moved in about 3 weeks ago and likes to have all the attention.  We will call her “S”.  Son has been playing with the first little girl who moved in at the same time we did.  We will call her “D”.  When S moved in, she automatically wanted to play with D, but nobody else.  Son wants to play with everyone and just wants to be friends.  So S told him yesterday to just go away.  He was trying to play with her, D and the other boys at the playground.  The more the merrier, right?

Obviously not!  What I found out is that S has anger issues and is on medication for her issues. Her dad came out too and I talked to him for a while.  It seems that S doesn’t like to share friends.  With this, she has talked D into not playing with anyone else other than her.  I pulled D aside to talk with her about 10 minutes later and she moved over to the picnic table and went, “Yeah?”  I told her that first of all I am an adult and she will not address me that way. It is yes ma’am and not yeah!  Second, we all live here and we all need to get along.  I talked with her for a few minutes and the looks that came off of that childs face told me that even though she talks going to church, she is not taught manners or chooses not to use them.  Totally unacceptable.  I told her before I left that she wouldn’t need to worry about my son playing with her again because I do not care for her behaviors and he will not be allowed to play with her.

I am just OVER parents not parenting their children or making excuses for them or thinking it is all the other kid!  I know my child is just that – a child!  He is going to push buttons and do everything he can to get away with whatever he can.  That is a kid being a kid.  Don’t blame him for something that your child may have done and don’t think that yours has no issues.  I want to stress also, I am by no means the best parent either!  But at least I try.  Sorry, I’m on a soapbox about how some people choose to non-parent their kids.  With that being said, my child is not perfect and we don’t pretend he is.  D and S may not be getting the parental guidance they need, and I just need to get over that.

On another note, we have decided to start teaching son some life skills he will need. Today, he learned how to make scrambled eggs.  Of course, he had the supervision of mom!!  He completed cooking the eggs for us, we divided them between the three of us and man-oh-man were they good!

image1 (2)
Scrambled eggs for you and me.

His eye is looking sooo much better!! I sure do love him.  Have a fantastic day!!  We are doing our homeschool now.

The Perpetual Campers

2 thoughts on “Playground antics

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist November 30, 2015 / 6:33 pm

    Oh my goodness, you ARE a good mom! I only got involved a few times when my son was young, but it was always worth it. One time, my son had been being bullied by a kid on the bus. My son is tall for his age, so it’s not like he was a tiny target or something, but this kid had issues. So I didn’t know what was going on until I got called from the school that my son had been involved in a fight on the bus and that I needed to come and get him. I was told what had happened. I was MIFFED, to put it mildly. Well, I got there all in a lather ready to slap the crap out of the kid (not literally, of course, just my Mama Bear fantasy) but when I walked into the principal’s office and saw him sitting there with an ice bag on his face, the anger vanished. I only felt sadness for him because I knew that if he was doing stuff like that that his home life was probably pretty bad. Bully children are often abused children. I brought my son home and was not angry with him at all for finally defending himself. Sorry for the long story, but I’ll wrap it up now. The kid was sent off to a school for troubled kids. He had been in lots of incidents and that one was the final straw. I do hope he is doing well today. 🙂 Keep up the good work, PCW! 🙂

    Like

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife November 30, 2015 / 10:33 pm

      I try not to get involved and let him work it out for himself. But he has had bruises on his shoulders, upper thigh, etc. He said that the kids had hit on him before. I do not condone “rough play” like that. It makes me think that they are abused or neglected in some way. It is very sad. The little girl did not even want to talk to me. I talked to the dad for S and found out that she has issues, but I am not going to allow her issues to put son in a bad situation either. I told son that he just cant go around them. He went out to play today while they were all at school. I understand you being miffed. I am a momma bear too, and I dont like for people (adults or kids) to mess with my cub. I have had one think that his/her kid could do no wrong and that my son was a huge problem. I just dont play those games. If he does something, and I know he does, then he is going to be punished for what he has done. Plain and simple – and he is not going to blame others. I tell him – OWN IT! I could just go on and on about parenting and lack of! Son is doing very well today and doesnt even feel like he is missing out on playing with the other kids. Plus, I told him that he has nothing in common with them – he already knows what he wants to do and is achieving it, they are not!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

