Jobs and Pizza, Pizza and Jobs

Hubby is on his way to a job fair today.  Keeping fingers crossed!  All of the big companies are going to be at this one. He hasn’t had any luck with them before, but we are being hopefully optimistic!  He has been to so many where the companies tell him to go online and fill out the application. Kinda defeats the fact that you spent time to go to a job fair.  He was told last night that they would hire and work him at Sav-A-Lot, which he did put in an application for last night, but they only give 25 hrs a week.  It would not be enough to pay for the weekly rent here.  He said that he is going to take it to make some money (some is better than none), but he is still actively looking and will add another part time if he needs to. He also called the temp company yesterday morning and told them that he needs to work and she said, “ok, well if I have anything.” And then hung up.  I could tell by the way she said it that they are not going to work him at all.  Its kinda sad that it comes down to the fact that he is not 20 yrs old and cant move as fast as those younger guys!  So off he went, praying he will land something from the job fair.

Son had some news too!  He was cast in something that will film soon and will do so in Boca.  We are very excited about it, but he needs overalls!!  Casting said it was ok for now, but he will have to have them eventually.  I have put it out on FB asking if any of my friends have a pair in his size, praying that someone does.  We just don’t have the $$ for them right now.  We might not have the gas $$ either, but we are going to try to make it somehow.  It is a really good opportunity for son and he is so excited!

It seems as if my days are spent the same. Sometimes, I kinda feel like it is groundhogs day for me! Lol  I wake up, fix a pot of coffee, make breakfast and then “wake up”.  We get started on schoolwork and I straighten sons corner.  If I need to wash clothes, then I sort laundry and get it started.  I make lunch.  I make dinner.  I wash dishes and watch tv. Then I go to sleep.  The next morning, I wake up and do it all over again.  I really don’t mind it right now.  I have to say, I do enjoy living in the camper right now. There is not a whole lot that I have to clean.  Yes, it is a little cramped, and I feel like I am tripping over things, but the main thing is – IT IS OURS!!!  We do not owe anything on it and for that I am grateful.

Speaking of making lunch, I posted a few days or so ago about making pizza in the crockpot.  This is a food that I think son could live on for the rest of his life.  He would eat it and spaghetti every day if I let him.  The pizza in the crockpot looked really interesting.  While at the store a few days ago, I decided to purchase everything to make it.  I started with the “whoppem pizza dough”. You know, the ones in the canister that you whop against the counter to break it open.  I also bought pizza sauce, shredded cheese and pepperoni.

I cut the pizza dough in half and placed one half in saranwrap and stuck it back in the fridge to use within a day or two.  I followed the directions and pulled together the pizza.  I placed the pizza sauce in two different small freezer bags and put them into the freezer section of the fridge for later use. I have made pizza at home before and it seems to always go bad.  Placing it in the freezer keeps it good so that I am not wasting money in the kitchen.  About 5 minutes after placing the pizza in the crockpot, son asked, “Is it ready yet?”  Oh my, he is already wanting it and it takes about 2 hours to make. UGH!!!  I gave him a banana and told him to enjoy! Lol

How did it turn out?  This was a total win for my young man.  He LOVED it.  Hubby and I had a bite of it too, and I have to say that it was very good.  I made it as a personal sized pizza, but thick.  Usually he likes his pizza thin to normal, but this one didn’t turn out that way.  Next time, I will cut the dough differently to make it a little thinner, but he said it was fine the way it was.  I also cut it in half because the fridge is not a full-sized one. I have no place to store left-overs.  By cutting it in half, it allows for me to make it again and have it fresh for him.  This was a total win in our camper and I see it as a dish that I will make more often.

image1 (3)
Crockpot pizza. WIN!!

That’s all today!  I am on pins and needles waiting to hear all about the job fair!  Have an awesome day!!

The Perpetual Campers

2 thoughts on “Jobs and Pizza, Pizza and Jobs

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist December 1, 2015 / 5:15 pm

    My prayers go up for your hubby. Mine is still doing what he can to get 40 hours a week. A job was done at 2 yesterday and he said they were going to let him go for the day, so he suggested that he reconfigure the inside of one of the work vans. Seriously, it’s such an odd work environment down here! As for your son, hike it to the nearest Salvation Army or Goodwill. I’ll bet you’ll find a “like new” pair of overalls there. I find high end clothes there all the time, sometimes with the tags still on ’em. Just boil ’em real good in a nice sudsy hot washer (I also add a box of baking soda for good measure). This is all going to work out perfectly for you guys. I will keep you in my prayers! 🙂 Yummy looking pizza, by the way! I made one on an electric frying pan once out of desperation. One of the best homemade pizzas I ever had. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife December 1, 2015 / 7:08 pm

      Well, the job fair was ok. There are a few positions that he has to apply for tonight. Once again – “go online and fill out the application!” There was not any immediate hiring with anyone, like what was indicated on the job fair advertisement. He has an interview with Hilton doing vacation (time share) sales tomorrow. Not what he really wants to do and time share sales is very hard, but he is going to go and see what it is all about. It would be hourly plus commission. Disney told him to go online, but gave him some tips on where to go that might get him working sooner than later. We are praying that something comes through. Praying for your hubby too!! It is a very unfair work situation in FL. I plan on going to goodwill either today or tomorrow. We have one near us. Honestly, I just dont think we have the money right now for even that. They want us to go to Party City and buy a train conductors hat too. That is about $6. I really hate being in this position! lol I am so ready for him to start really working again. Yes, it will all work out, we have faith! Plus, the casting that son got looks really promising for his resume. We are very excited about it. Thank you on the pizza. It was one of the best I had ever tasted! I bet your frying pan pizza was good too!! Off to put laundry in the dryer. lol

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

