A new definition for “pot” brownies!! lol

This whole thing with a tiny oven has just had me thinking!  What can I possibly do to cook our food without using the oven and have meats turn out fantabulous??  When I found the recipe for pizza in the crockpot, it “awakened” my creativity!  I have always cooked meats in the crockpot.  I have cooked a lot of things in the crockpot.  The pizza was the first time I have ever attempted anything with dough.  We were surprised that it came out so good!

The other night, hubby had to run to the store for us.  I had him on the phone with me (to make sure he didn’t get anything extra that wasn’t on my list) while he was in the store.  Hey – I gotta do what a wife has gotta do sometimes. Lol  I remembered “OH, we need brownie mix!”  Low and behold he was right in front of it.  He asked if we wanted Ghirardelli brand.  UMMMMM, no!  That brand is just more than I want to spend – especially when I have no idea how this will turn out.

I went into it not knowing how long it would actually take.  But it was ok. This is part of our adventure in the camper.  I pulled out the crockpot and started on this journey last night. I prepared the brownie mix exactly as the recipe called for.  I plugged in the crockpot and turned it on high.  I also took a little bit of Olive Oil and poured it into the crockpot.  It was maybe a teaspoon.  I took a paper towel and spread it over the bottom and up the sides of the crockpot.  I then took parchment paper and placed it where it would form a little “boat” of some sorts so that I could pull the brownies out when done.  I poured the brownie mixture in and put the top on.  Then I wait!

Brownie goo
What it looked like when I first put it in.

After an hour, I took the top off and placed my finger on the top.  I was a little disappointed.  It was soo gooey and thick, like a syrup almost.  I wiped the top of the crockpot off to dry it and replaced.  I waited another hour, wiped the top again, replaced it and let it cook more.  By this time, son comes from our room and sniffs in the air and says, “OH MY GOSH MOMMY, IS THAT BROWNIES???”  Yes, he asked loud and proud!  That boy loves his brownies.  My response was, “Do you smell brownies?  I don’t!” lol

All in all, I had to wait 3 hours for the brownies to be done.  You would have thought that I had won a brownie competition or something.  My two guys bit into theirs before I did.  They were singing brownie praises for at least an hour.  Hubby said that they were the best he had ever had.  They were so moist. Son wanted to eat all of them!!  We have enough to have as dessert tonight and tomorrow night too.

brownies
Brownies are DONE
brownies cut
They were really moist.

What did I learn from my little experiment?  Well, you can cook ANYTHING in a crockpot!  These little portable kitchen appliances are wonderful and a must have for anyone – especially if you live in a camper!  Stay tuned for more antics with my crockpot – but not now!!  We are now home and dog sitting for our friends while they are on a cruise!

Happy Boy
I am happy because my wife figured out how to make awesome brownies!!

The Perpetual Campers

2 thoughts on “A new definition for “pot” brownies!! lol

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist December 5, 2015 / 9:55 pm

    Okay, that looks ridiculously good! What kind of brownie mix did you end up using? I don’t have a crock pot, but I gotta have me some of those brownies! 😀 And I love your conclusion about being able to cook anything in a crock pot. You have definitely convinced me after the pizza AND the brownies now! 🙂 P.S. I had pot brownies one time back when I was around 22 years old (I didn’t know it beforehand). My observation: Why would anyone want to ruin a perfectly good brownie like that. YUCK! It tasted terrible. 😛

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Perpetual Camping Wife December 5, 2015 / 10:03 pm

    They were really good. The brownie mix was from a box. Hubby bought it at Aldi for 98 cents!! I have used one crockpot so much that it stopped working before. I think I bought this one a few years ago for $40. It’s oval and has a locking lid on it. I love it!! You definitely should get one. I have never had the real pot brownies before. Never was interested. I will take your word that they were bad. I agree, why ruin a yummy brownie!?!? Lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

