Peeved is only a nice way to put it!

Well, I am just about over this place!  Sorry, but this is going to be a rant!  We have been at our campground since the beginning of November, fulltime!  What we are learning is that some, ok most, campgrounds charge extra for more than two people.  We have three – so that means we are being charged extra.  We have been paying them a weekly rate because of the job/money situation that we have been in.  We have not had the money to pay them a full month at once.

Lets just do a little math here.

Weekly rate, with 3 people is $250

Monthly rate, with 3 people is $748

This has all water and electric included!!

We have been here on a weekly rate for 7 wks, at $250/wk = $1750

If we had paid monthly, it would have been $1500

It would have saved us $250, that we needed badly!

When husband went to pay a month (we finally had it), he asked them how much.  The guy in the front told him it was $650.  He totally did not charge us for our son.  We were like, OK, well maybe that is for Christmas.  I mean, I know another camper here that has 3 kids, and they have not charged him for two months for the three kids.

Hubby went into the office last night to pick up the mail and the guy (owner we guess) told him that we owe him $100 for son.  I know it is not a lot, but they could have told us, “Look, we understand that WE didn’t charge you the right rate.  We know that you have been paying WEEKLY for almost two months.  We will not charge you this month, but next month it is going to be $750.”  They have not once stopped to see if maybe they could help us out ANY to help save us a little money.  You know, like charging half the month one week and the rest the next week.  Something!!  Hubby told him thank you for taking our sons Christmas from him.  That was all we had to buy son a little something with this year.  This is not the first time they have done this.  They told us one week, we are not going to charge for son and your price, with tax is $200.  When we went in to pay, they charged us for him.

Since I was in the customer service industry for so long, it just makes sense that one would not come back and charge someone extra (after they paid) when they are trying to be long-term!  We are on the hunt for a new campground now.  Do I really want to move? No, not really.  But I do think we can find one that might be a little less expensive than this one.  Pretty bad to since they wont allow DSL internet in here. Yup, we are hooked up through a phone line and our internet sucks!!

That’s all today folks. My rant is over and I just need to go watch my soap opera that I taped.  That might get me in a better mood!! Have a great day and thanks for reading.

The Peeved Perpetual Campers

8 thoughts on “Peeved is only a nice way to put it!

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist December 15, 2015 / 7:02 pm

    I had a bad feeling you were going to get screwed over again after that other time. Have you looked into free camping sites? I know they have them in Florida and I know you won’t have electric or water, but maybe you could try it for a month or so. Bob’s site shows so many ways around those missing elements. And with the money you’d save, you could hook up some solar panels and become more self reliant. Those prices are outrageous to start with, but then to add on for each extra person! Honestly! Now you have me ranting and I didn’t even know there were still any soap operas on! What’s the name of yours? I have one of those “show holes” going on right now. I just finished the last of the Gravity Falls series and I’ve run out of British reality shows. I loved Young, Dumb, and Living off Mum! What a hoot that series was! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife December 15, 2015 / 7:11 pm

      Please share Bob’s site!! We do not have a generator! We would need one in order to get started. Solar panels are expensive. We would love to find property out in the country where we could pay monthly to purchase and just put our camper on it. The prices are outrageous, but one of the cheaper ones around. Yeah, Its $30 extra a week for son if we do weekly rent. Its $100 extra for monthly rent. I know for a fact that he was letting another family with 3 kids get away without paying extra for them the past two months. But he is going to charge us a fortune for one kid. The facility is nice and clean, but it is not updated on the grounds with cable, internet, etc! They havent even had anything going on for the community in the club house. When hubby said something about the other family not paying, he told hubby that “they are paying now.” which is bull. GGGGRRRRR!!! Ok, I am going to watch Young and the Restless. Been watching it for a long time now. Since I was in 6th grade!! lol I havent heard of Young, Dumb and Living off Mum, but it sounds funny. Love, love LOVE British humor.

      Liked by 1 person

      • kay ~ the barefoot minimalist December 16, 2015 / 1:08 pm

        Bob’s site is cheaprvliving.com It is an excellent source for all things RV related. He lives in a van and tells his story of how he started doing that. There is a Rubber Tramp Rendezvous coming up in Quartzsite, AZ, next month. I wish I could be there! Everyone helps everyone with whatever they need to do. For instance, say you want to put solar panels on your camper. People help you for free! It is one big community of like minded folks who love living off the grid. I know you may not be in a position for a lot of the stuff at the moment, but you may find it helpful with future decisions. I’m just absorbing as much of it as possible. 🙂 I’ve never seen the Young and the Restless. My soaps were One Life To Live, All My Children, General Hospital, and some really long ago defunct ones like The Edge of Night and The Secret Storm. I started watching soaps when I was 12 and got my mother hooked on them. 😀 I actually thought all of the soaps were gone now. I haven’t had a TV in about 3 years now, so I’m really out of touch! I actually stopped watching soaps back in ’99 when we moved to NJ and I couldn’t get ABC. I just never picked it back up again. You reminded me of how much I miss those daily dramas! 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife December 16, 2015 / 5:59 pm

        I looked at his blog and it is awesome! Lots of good information if it were just me and hubby. I think with son being in the mix, theres just not the same opportunity to boondock as he has done. The RTR sounds very interesting and would be a lot of fun, one day. Its good that you are absorbing as much as you can. This will be helpful to you when you do decide to take the step and move into RVing full time. However – there are still going to be things that you learn as you go. My friend who owns the RV dealership told me this, and she is right. There have not been many episodes of Young and Restless that I have missed. I do have to say that I do not enjoy it as much as I once did. The writers now have gotten stupid and think that a story line has to be over the top crazy! At one time, I would watch Y&R and Another World. Oh how I loved Felicia Gallant on AW. lol My mom is petite and people use to say, when she worked, that she reminded them of Susan Lucci. I am more like Delta Burke! HAHAHA

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pam Walsh December 16, 2015 / 12:21 am

    Wow!! What Christmas spirit he has.. Hate to see him in a bad mood.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife December 16, 2015 / 1:34 am

      Me too! Hubby was so mad about it when he got back to our “condo”. It’s ok though. When we move, I will write reviews on this place that will not be favorable. Plus, he will get his. God doesn’t forget ugliness.

      Like

      • kay ~ the barefoot minimalist December 16, 2015 / 6:23 pm

        Good points! Have you ever heard of ditchingsuburbia.com ? It’s about a family of 4 who took off when the kids (boy and girl) were around 12 and 13, something like that, and they homeschooled them on the road. He goes into all of the nuts and bolts of it. As you can see, I love all y’all’s camping sites! 🙂 Susan Lucci! I love it! I used to get that a lot when I was a teenager. But yeah, I’ve filled out a bit too. Okay, a LOT. 😛

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife December 16, 2015 / 6:25 pm

        I have not, but I will look at it later. Thanks for listing it for me. I think filling out is just a part of life. Sooner or later – we are all going to do it!

        Like

Leave a Reply

