Mom, get all the way over – they are moving, we are not!!

What a day yesterday!  I acquired a headache for some reason.  I was able to take a very small nap before we went to acting class.  I got “lost” on the way.  Lol  Son distracted me while I was on the turnpike. I was supposed to get on the 408 to go toward downtown Orlando and get off and take other roads to the school. I totally missed the exit for the 408.  We ended up going all the way to I-4! UGH!!!  They have I-4 all messed up.  They are redoing several exits and have those closed.  What would normally take 10 minutes, turns into 20.  Good grief I was in the middle, with an 11 year old back-seat-driver who doesn’t even have his license yet!  I don’t know how many times I had to tell him that yes, the people who were all the way in the right lane were going (while we were stopped) because they were exiting off I-4!!  I couldn’t get off yet because that was not near our exit. If you have never encountered an 11 year old who knows how to drive – be grateful!! Lol

We finally got there a few minutes late, and son was running in and stressing because he thought they were going to pass over his rehearsal. Lol  Silly boy, they cant pass over the Grinch!!   I parked the car and went fast-walking in after him and got him all squared away.  What a relief – they did not start without him. YAY!!  Next worry was hubby getting there on time. We kinda knew that he would not be there in time.  Son has been working so hard with this and hubby really wanted to be there to support him.  He called on his way and told me to save him a seat.  So we walked in and I picked 2 seats on the outside of a row.  One guy snickered when I told him I was going to go into the row last so that I could save hubby a seat. I didn’t want my husband to trapes through a river of feet to get to me.  He got there just as they were about to start and we were on the end.  YES!  He didn’t miss not one minute of it.

These kids were so darn good.  They are all talented and bring different things to the table with their performances.  It was a room full of extremely proud parents – as well as it should have been.  We were really excited that son was able to perform in front of a casting director.  I asked him afterwards if he had any words of encouragement.  He has had son in front of him before for castings, so he was familiar with him.  He told me that son has started to grow out of his shell and just keep him at it and let him be him.  I can go with that! Lol  Son was on such a high, I didn’t think I would ever get him to sleep last night. He really loves performing, and it shows.  They had pizza afterwards for everyone and son was in heaven!! lol

IMG_1254
The Performance Troop cast.
IMG_1255
YUUUUUMMMMMMM – This pizza is soooo good! lol

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On another note, a friend of mine posted this picture on FB today and it caused a little bit of a reaction from one of her friends.  Here is the picture with the caption that went with it:

hairdo
$40 Hairdo for $80 in Food Stamps $100 Hairdo for $200 in Food Stamps $50 Hairdo for $100 in Food Stamps $75 Quick Weave for $150 Food Stamps/bring a Friend $35 for $70 in Food Stamps Let’s Go!!

I think the original poster did this for either a joke or to stir the pot. Either way, I was a little taken back by some of the things her friend said.  Here it is:  “99% are not using it to go to an interview. This is the field I work in…I know. They are trying look good to get pregnant so they can get more money. Most people like this abuse the system in every way. They can work they are just choosing to work as hoes. Some actually work full time (do not tell) and use EBT to buy steak, lobster etc.”

How sad that this person would be so critical of others. Please do not lump a majority of people into this equation because not everyone is like that.  I understand that there are others who abuse the system.  They find ways around the system and it turns into criminal behavior. It makes it bad for others who are in a terrible situation and need assistance, especially during this time of year.  For people that are this critical and for people who need assistance – I pray!

Ok, got things to do. My lil man needs to get started on school, even though I don’t feel like it. Lol  Have an awesome day!!  Thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

3 thoughts on “Mom, get all the way over – they are moving, we are not!!

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist December 17, 2015 / 4:04 pm

    Wish I’d gotten to see the play! Sounds like a good time was had by all. Every experience leads him closer to the big time. You can tell he feels it too. 🙂 Your drive sounded so stressful. Driving is so difficult for me down here. I’m in awe of your ability to not only find your way, but to get around in those snarls. As for the FB thing, sheesh and wow, there are always people who will abuse the system. It probably wouldn’t be so bad if the people who shed a spotlight on the abusers would also state that not EVERYONE who is on benefits abuses the system. But I’ve been witness to some abusers in the past, and it is difficult not to get annoyed by them for sure. So, anyhoo, other than all that, thanks for another great update. You KNOW I love these! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Perpetual Camping Wife December 17, 2015 / 4:10 pm

    I am trying to upload one performance into YouTube. If I get it done, I will post it. I lived in Orlando for about 10 years. I’m pretty good with most places here, but I also have my tablet with google maps to help!! Lol. Yeah, the ebt thing has me annoyed. I know there will be abusers, but not all are. I’ve know some too. Oh well. Will update if I can get YouTube to download on this crazy bad internet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

