Breaking the brake

Hubby is going to be making phone calls over the next few days to see what he can find out with the brakes for our truck.  We got up and found that the rear drivers tire was off the truck and laying on the ground.  Our sweet neighbor came over and started working on our truck.  We so don’t have the money to pay for any parts right now, but bless him – he wanted to help us out.  From what I understand, he is a very well known race car driver from Canada.  But for the life of me – I have no idea what his name is. Lol  I know the first name he gave us, but I don’t know if that is the name he goes by when he raced.  Of course, he is retired now.  But how sweet of him to try to fix our truck.

Yes – I said TRY!!  Wouldn’t you know it, he is not able to do so.  He told hubby and me this morning that it would be better for us to have someone repair it that has a warranty on their parts, etc.  The reasoning is because the brakes that are on the truck are specialized.  Yup, that’s right, SPECIALIZED.  It just keeps getting better.  He told us that the company we talked to yesterday wouldn’t be able to give us a quote because of the type of brakes that is on it.  So basically, this means more money that we are going to need to spend to get it fixed.

That darn breaking brake!!

Ok, on another note – has anyone watched the show “My 600 lb life”?  It comes on TLC.  I have watched past seasons and am very excited to see that it is back on.  I am very sensitive to people who are morbidly obese.  My heart just goes out to them.  I have lost 85 lbs over the past 4 years.  I am at a stand-still right now, but I do plan on jump starting my loss again.  I have a lot more to lose.  I want to be healthy, not only for me but for son.  He is working at being an actor.  I do not want him to be embarrassed by the size of his mom.  He tells me all the time that he loves me the way I am, and I know that he does, but he has yet to be around really cruel people who will say mean things about me.  I was nowhere NEAR the weight that the people on the show are.  Nor will I be.  I watch this show as a motivator to me to do what I need to do to drop the weight.  But my gosh, I don’t know if it is the way they edit it – I just ache for these people.  Some of them just want the easy way to try lose weight.  They don’t want to walk.  One woman wouldn’t get out of bed for 5 months after having bariatric surgery.  Oh my gosh!!  Why go through it if you are not going to put the work into it?

Hubby and I have decided (and I know I have said it before) to do the Dr Phil 20/20 diet.  Some of the things require baking, which is going to be interesting since I do not use my oven.  I don’t know if I am going to need to get a convection oven or just continue to use the crockpot.  These are some of the types of issues I come across while living in a condo on wheels.    Yesterday for our dinner-for-lunch, we had soft tacos.  I took the remaining stew meat I had not used in the stew and sliced it thin.  Put it over into a skillet and browned it with onions. Then I put taco seasoning in it.  Once it was done, we put it into soft tortillas with shredded cheese and a little sour cream.  It turned out to be very yummy.  Wish I would have gotten a picture of it. Lol  Today, I am doing something with ground turkey.  Need to run, gotta make lunch aka dinner!

Thank you all for reading!  Have an awesome day.

The Perpetual Campers

Leave a Reply

