Breaking wind!

The sun has finally came out today.  From what the weather man was telling last night – it was going to be near evening time before the rain would go away.  I absolutely hate bad weather.  It has become worse since we have moved into our “condo”.  We have known that we need a new roof.  UGH!!  One price we were quoted was about $5000. Its just not worth it.  If we go to resell our condo, we would never recoup that amount of money. SIGH!  So, knowing that we are in our drier season, we have become very lazy about our roof.  Well, today we noticed that we have a leak – right above our heads – in the bedroom.  NO!  We were not in there when it started to leak.  We caught it right as it was starting and put things in place to catch water.

Let me back up a little. We knew last night that the weather would be bad.  I went out yesterday to call son inside from playing and noticed my neighbor outside doing things in her yard. I went over to talk with her for a second and noticed that she was securing all the small items in her yard.  When I asked her about it, she looked at me and said, “News is stating that we are going to get 160 mph winds.” Ummm, ok crazy lady.  Figuring that it was going to get bad, I decided to secure some of the things around our yard too.  I came inside and never saw anything about 160 mph winds.

So son and I had dinner later in the evening and sat down to watch American Idol.  Last season – we gotta see it.  As soon as it goes off, they give a teaser that coming up in the weather section of news – they have information about a huge storm coming our way – stay tuned!! Ok, I am watching!  Whats going on with our freaky weather.  From what they told us, its all part of El Nino.  I was so flipping amazed that I had to take a picture of the TV.

image

Yup, that says 160 MPH winds.  Wait!!  WHUAAT?  So, my neighbor isn’t crazy or smoking something.  It really said it.  The bad weather was supposed to start rolling in around 6am, which it did.  I was laying in bed at 8am, awake and listening.  I could hear the rain hitting the top of the condo and the wind was swirling all around.  But it was nowhere NEAR hurricane strength winds. From what the news stated, the rain would be very heavy – and it was.  They said that the 160 mph winds were in the upper level heading toward north Florida and Georgia.  Whew!  However, we were advised that our winds would gust and reach up to 40 MPH. We were also told that there could be possible tornados.  I can report that I do not think the winds got near 40, but it did throw caution at us and made us think about the safety of our condo during bad weather.  We now have a plan in place and will use it if we are ever faced with bad weather.  Of course – my plan:  bad weather is coming so the Perpetual Camping Family is heading to a hotel. Lol  Would have been at one last night if we would have had the money.  Like I said, I have never liked bad weather and this condo makes me like it even less.

In the rain, we did take our truck across the road and hit up our local Aldi for the groceries we will need to start our diet.  I sat down this week and put together my shopping list.  I also put together my menu for each day.  We will need to eat at specific times, so I needed to plan our meals so that I can send things to work with hubby that may be easy to keep in his lunchbox.  We came back with our items and I put them all up.  For lunch, I used my new oven and made baked chicken breast sprinkled with curry and an arugula salad on the side.  Theres a party in my tummy, so yummy, so yummy! Lol

Need to go check on our leak in the bedroom and then catch up on some blogs I missed yesterday. Have an awesome day everyone. Thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

6 thoughts on “Breaking wind!

  1. Valerie January 15, 2016 / 7:41 pm

    “my neighbor isn’t crazy or smoking something” – LOL! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Rob and Becky January 18, 2016 / 5:41 am

    That is a huge wind!!!! I’m glad I’ve never sat through one that windy–especially in our camper. It was pretty windy when we went camping over the Christmas holidays, but nothing like that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife January 18, 2016 / 4:37 pm

      LOL – I am glad that it never got to that strength. They were saying that it was upper level atmosphere and that we should only see 40mph at the most. I would say that we had gust that were that strong. But it was not consistent – thankfully!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

