Waist is a shrinking and tushy is more comfy

My oh my. I have had a headache for a few days.  I am sure it is because I am purging some yucky stuff from my body.  Namely, sugar and salt.  This is day 3 on the Dr. Phil 20/20 diet.  I am not completely crazy about the recipes.  I think it is because most of them have mustard in it.  I am not anti-mustard.  But with every meal – its just overkill.  I would love to figure out if I can substitute mustard for something else that is similar in nutritional values.

I was very surprised yesterday when I made our lunch.  I made, from the diet, cod cakes.  A lot of people do not care for fish, much less cod.  Luckily we are a family that likes all types of fish.  It called for us to cook lentils and mash them then mix the cod along with mustard, garlic, lemon juice, water, rye crackers and spinach.  I mashed those little lentils until they couldn’t be mashed any more.  I then took the cooked cod and flaked it, ok mashed it and added it to my other ingredients.  I took my hands and just squished and squished until it was well mixed.  I formed them into little “cakes” and baked, turning them once.

Imagine my surprise when I placed them in front of son and he told me that he liked them.  I really was not expecting this from him.  I was expecting him to fight, argue, complain – you know, all the typical 11 yr old things.  But I didn’t get any of those.

Cod Cakes

One thing I noticed yesterday on this new way of eating is that we were all HUNGRY!!  I do hope that this is only because we are so new into the diet plan.  We drank extra water, had a few walnuts and just nothing helped.  We were perpetually HONGRY!!

Today has been ok.  We had a scramble egg spinach breakfast.  There was no salt used in it at all, but it tasted like there was.  The trick is to use a little lemon juice.  We had egg salad on rye crackers for lunch with apple.   This has been one that is ok, but it just uses too much mustard for my taste.  Ok, just the sound of eggs and mustard together is ODD, but its not totally gross.

We also were very blessed over the weekend.  I tell you, neighbors in a campground are nothing like neighbors when you live in an apartment or home.  So, our neighbor on the other side of us is a single woman.  She has lived here for almost 2 years. Just the sweetest. She has two dogs that son loves to play with when they come outside.  They are the cutest lil doggies.  Well, she told us that she had a storage unit that she had to clear out.  She was bringing her recliner and was getting rid of her two chairs that were at the back of her fifth-wheel.  Hers is almost 10 feet longer than ours and has slide outs on both sides.  We walked into it and I was immediately jealous of all the room. Lol

She needed to do something with the chairs that were in the way of where she wanted her recliner to go.  She asked us if we wanted them.  Ummmm, let me think about it.  So, we have this one swivel chair that came with our camper way back when.  The bottom of the chair is not comfy and is starting to fall through.  I always put a pillow on the seat when I sat down to make it more comfy.  When hubby is home, I would let him have that chair and I brought in a folding lawn chair that I would sit in.  The lawn chair is really not that bad. So she has offered us these two chairs where there is no bottom falling out and has hardly been sat in.  She has cats and they have scratched them up pretty bad, but still – it aint no lawn chair and bottom falling chair!!  So, do we want these two chairs?  I’m sorry Ms. Neighbor, but we do not have the money to purchase them right now.  She responded with, “No, I do not want money for them.  I am giving them to you if you want them.  If not, I am just going to throw them away.”  WHAT?!?!?!  Oh yeah, we want the chairs.  It is a little more congested in here now, but our tushies are comfy.  Well, all except them not having arm rest on them.  We picked the perfect place to park our camper.  We could have done much worse for our neighbors.

One of our new chairs

Oh, and I almost forgot. I know I said we are on day 3, but out of curiosity this morning I wondered how well we were doing.  We do not have a scale here. Just no room for it. We go to the grocery store and weigh ourselves on their big scales at the entrance.  Hey, I have seen people weigh their luggage on these before. Lol  Nope, we haven’t gone and weighed ourselves.  We had to take our measurements before we started.  I put the measuring tape around my waist and I am down 1.5 inches already.  Hubby – he is down 1 inch.  Score!!! It seems to be working.

1.5 inches for me and 1 for hubby.

Have a great day everyone.  Once again, thanks for reading my rambling thoughts.

The Perpetual Campers

4 thoughts on “Waist is a shrinking and tushy is more comfy

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife January 19, 2016 / 6:19 pm

      Thank you. Yes, definitely a blessing. Well, double blessing since there are two of them. lol Cant get over how nice our neighbors are.

      Like

Leave a Reply

