Aldi ambulance

Today has been a tough day.  We had to run over to Aldi to pick up a few items that were needed (we ran out of) for our Dr Phil 20/20 diet.  Hubby woke up late.  I was up early watching Howard the Duck with son.  When hubby got up, he had his breakfast and cup of coffee and then we took off to Aldi.

aldi

Normally Aldi is uneventful.  While in there, son was badgering me with what we were going to have for lunch and why we couldn’t have pizza, etc.  So, I looked at him and said, “Son, come on, just hush for a few.”  This lady that had her bike helmet on kinda snickered when I said it. It wasn’t a normal snicker, but a snicker none the less.

We got all the way over to the other side of the store where the frozen foods were at.  I needed to get fish and a few veggies that were over there.  When I am in the store, I am just totally oblivious to others around me.  All of a sudden we hear a crash and I look over and the woman who had snickered had fallen and hit the base of her head/neck on the cart. Hubby walked over and asked if he could help her up and it was at this time that he noticed she was having a seizure.  He made sure she was on her side and backed up.  He told someone that worked there that they needed to call an ambulance.  An employee came to her aid and flipped her on her back.  Another customer passed by and placed this woman back on her side and told them not to move her until the ambulance arrived.

Of course, son wanted to stand there and take in everything that was going on.  We knew that the employees were going to handle the situation, so we moved to the check out and paid for our groceries.  When we got back in the truck, I took the opportunity to inform son that he should never stare at what is going on in situations like this. It is something that I have told him before, but since he had never experienced anything like this before – human nature took over.  Please, if you have never had a talk like this with your children, grand children, nieces, nephews – PLEASE do it now.  The last thing that someone who is having a medical emergency wants is for people staring at them.

I heard the manager tell another employee that they should move the lady to another point of the store.  I cringed.  Now we know why she was wearing a protective helmet in the store.  The other customer who had told them NOT to move her was asking if she was a regular, had a history of seizures, if she had a husband, etc.  This poor woman was by herself. Usually her husband is with.  She also has a history of seizures, which means she shouldn’t have been on her own. The EMTs were walking in as we were walking out.

This really made the start of our day kinda odd.  I pray that this lady is not severely hurt.  She was not able to talk when I was there, but showed signs of wanting to sit up.  So, anything interesting happen during your day?  Thank you for reading!!

The Perpetual Campers

 

2 thoughts on “Aldi ambulance

  1. Valerie January 19, 2016 / 11:54 pm

    Ohh, I’m sorry to hear that. I hope she’s alright. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife January 20, 2016 / 5:53 pm

      I do too. I thought about her all night. She was probably in her late 50s. So sad. Son had never seen anything like that happen before. We had a huge discussion about it last night. He was able to tell me just how scary it was for him.

      Like

Leave a Reply

