Suck, tarp, suck

It has been a busy day!! We were up early this morning and taking care of business.  Lol  We finally went and got a PO Box so that we no longer will receive mail here at the campground.  We also had our phones turned back on. Yup, the Perpetual Campers are no longer quiet!! Hubby took us to breakfast since we were up so early.  All I wanted was coffee. Ok that wasn’t all, but I wanted coffee. Hehe

After we had breakfast, we had to go over to Walmart (OOOOHHHH, how I hate you Walmart) to get a few things.  We needed a tarp to place on top of the camper.  It will not cover the entire camper, but most of it.  We still have one area of concern, but we will try to fix it soon.  The tarp was much needed because all it has done is rain.

I am so tired of this truck.  This is what I have to use just to get into the darn thing.  imageIts called Short-leg-itis and I suffer from it.  When I get out, I just kinda turn my body to the outside, hang my legs over and drop to the ground.  Drats!!  When I got home and did this, the truck door came back on me and knocked our left-overs from breakfast right out of my hand.  Lets just say that someone’s dog will have a really nice “dinner” at some point.

Our neighbor is so sweet.  He helped hubby put the tarp on the camper. He actually got on the top and spread it out for us.  We asked him not to, but there he went – up, up and away to the top. We are very grateful for all of his help.  We now have a “Band-Aid” on our camper.  Now that we have the camper covered up, I have to get to work on the huge wet spot on the inside. image

For this, we purchased a small Stanley Dry/Wet Vac for $20.  I get down on the floor, turn it on and SUCK, SUCK, SUCK the spot.  I think that was probably the best $20 we have spent. Lol

Internet has been really crazy today with all the rain.  Because we have dial-up, half the time (during rain) we have it and then we don’t.  Gotta go make dinner for my munchkin.  Have an awesome night and thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

7 thoughts on “Suck, tarp, suck

  1. Rob and Becky January 29, 2016 / 4:19 am

    If you already know this, feel free to ignore this:) You are going to want to deal with any wet spots as soon as possible and get leaks fixed to prevent dry rot in your camper. The tarp is a good start to keep more rain out. One of the campers we have owned (in the past) was purchased with dry rot already started in it. We knew that and bought it anyway because it was cheap and we could afford it. However, we only got a few years out of it because the dry rot spread to the point of causing the camper to need complete re-building in the front. We did not do it–but it was given to someone who wanted to and had the skills, which we did not.

    It’s great that you are drying things out as much as possible. I’m sorry you have to deal with this! It sounds like otherwise things are starting to look up for you–a car, cell phones–wow! Hopefully you will find the right car soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife January 30, 2016 / 7:32 pm

      Even if I did know, I would never ignore. Lol I think we will upgrade our condo eventually, just not right now. I think where it was coming from is the seal that is on the slide out. Will be looking into it soon. Thank you, I’m sorry we have to deal with it too, but it’s all part of being an owner. Yes, life is looking up a little. Thanks for your words of encouragement and expertise. It is greatly appreciated.

      Like

  2. Rob and Becky January 30, 2016 / 9:25 pm

    Well, as long as it’s holding together, and the rain is not coming in on your head, you are good to go for a while. It is so great that you are saving so much money and have to courage to do what it takes to get yourselves back on track. I’m hoping I have as much courage as you do with the changes that are coming my way:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife January 30, 2016 / 10:11 pm

      lol, yeah, rain on our heads would not be good and I would not be a happy mom. We have no other choice but to carry on and do what we are doing. We would not be very good role models for our son if we just let life bite us and us not bite back. He needs to learn that when you face difficult obstacles – make the best of them. But it is hard. It is hard waking up every morning knowing that life is trying to get the best of us. Change is good. Embrace it!! You are going to do fine with any of them coming your way.

      Like

  3. Rob and Becky January 30, 2016 / 10:15 pm

    I agree. We are trying to give a good example to our children, as well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

