Air drama aint for this mama!

Well, if its not one thing – its another!  Sorry I have been MIA lately.  We have had things around the condo that we needed to repair.

First off – we know we have to fix the leak.  We don’t have a whole lot of money and we don’t really have the money to have anyone come out and fix the leak.  We are pretty sure that where it is located – it is coming from where the slide-out comes in and out only on one side. We went to home depot and bought this foam that goes around air conditioners. It does not retain water – but repels it.  Hubby took this foam and squished it under the foam seal that has become weak.  It is a temporary fix and we know that.  He also took metal flashing and placed it on the top of the slide-out in a way where water will run down the flashing instead of going into the slide out. Our neighbor also had a waterproof tape that we put on the top and bottom of the flashing.   Kinda like a cover.  It has not rained yet, so we do not know if it is going to work.  Keep your fingers crossed.

You might wonder what we did with the tarp.  Well, we took it down.  When hubby and the neighbor put it up, they put it over the air conditioner.  I tried to tell them that it could not go over the top of the air.  But do you think they listened to me?  Heck no!  At some point over the weekend, we started to smell a funky burning smell.  The fan in the air conditioner was also rattling.  Great, no air.  We had it turned on, but there was no cool air coming through.  All day Saturday and Sunday, we were here with no air.  It wasn’t that bad, but the next few days were projected to reach in the mid to low 80s.  Monday morning, we were on the phone trying to find a repair person. We talked to one guy, who said he wouldn’t be able to come until next MONDAY!! We left messages for a few others but had no calls back.  We opened all the windows and went to storage to grab our huge cyclone fan.  Lets just say that it was HOT.

Finally, yesterday, one of the repair people called us back.  We told him what was going on and he said that it sounded like it would be an easy fix.  He wasn’t sure if he was able to get here or not on the same day, that he would try but warned that it may be Wednesday.  Hey – its better than next Monday. Lol  Hubby went on to work while my little munchkin and I sat here.  Ok, it was so hot that I became sleepy and ended up taking a nap.  Let me ask you, when it is hot, do you ever just want to veg and not do anything?  I get to the point where all I want to do is just sit around with a fan and a cold washcloth on my neck.  This was just bringing back too many bad memories. See, last August when my dad passed, our apartment air was on the fritz.  We went off and on for over a month without air. Yes, they gave us portable air conditioners, but it only cooled one room and we all had to sleep in the living room like we were in a commune. Here we are, almost six months later having air issues again.  Not good in Florida.  Especially with our crazy weather.  One day we are cold and the next we are hot.

So as I am sitting here dozing off in the chair, I hear a knock on my door.  The very nice repair man showed up.  He got onto our very soft roof and got to work.  He replaced the return something or another switch and was done in about 30 minutes at the most. Thank you Jesus the air is working!  Best of all, he gave me a discount for paying with cash.  After all was done, it cost us $106 for the repair.  We were really scared that the tarp had done bad damage to the air and that we would need a new one.  So darn glad that this was not the case.

What else have we done, you may be wondering.  The couch that came with this unit was old and tilted to one side a little. I know we have sons twin mattress on top of it since it lays all the way down, but I didn’t think he was getting quality sleep.  We decided to pull the couch out.  We had to unbolt it from the sides of the wall, but it was relatively easy to get out of here.  We put it in storage with the rest of our junk.  We went to Walmart and found a camping cot to use as a frame. We priced bed frames and the cheapest we could find was $75 and they we would need to get a box spring, which would have been another $100. YIKES!!  We went with the camping cot because it was only $32.  We put his mattress on top of it and fixed it just like we had it before.  The mattress hangs off the right and left sides by about 3 inches each.  After son slept on it, we asked him how it was and he said that it was some of the best sleep he had ever had. Lol

Well, I just wanted to catch up on everything that has been going on.  One think we are learning in this little journey is that we will always have something going on that requires our attention.  Have an awesome day and thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

13 thoughts on “Air drama aint for this mama!

  1. Howto$tuffYourPig February 3, 2016 / 10:13 pm

    Happy to hear that the repairman was able to fix the A/C unit! Keep your spirits up. Things will get better! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 5, 2016 / 10:20 pm

      I dont think I was every so happy to see someone. lol I think I could have hugged him. Thank you! Yes, they will get better and spirits are up. They have to be since I have son around all the time. Cant let him see little things get the best of me. hehe

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Miriam February 3, 2016 / 11:36 pm

    So glad the aircon was fixed. There’s always something to maintain, isn’t there. Hope the rest of the week has far less dramas.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 5, 2016 / 10:23 pm

      HEHEHE I am beginning to think Drama is my new middle name, or my families new last name. I think it is all starting to look up. At least I have a van now and wont be tied to the “condo” all the time. That helps with coping. Yes, always something to maintain. Very happy to see the repair man and super glad it was an inexpensive fix. We were really scared that we were going to need a new air conditioner which would have been over $600 PLUS labor.

      Like

      • Miriam February 5, 2016 / 10:40 pm

        Well, you enjoy your weekend now.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 5, 2016 / 10:43 pm

        We will. I am going to spend some of it catching up on blogs that I havent read in days because of all the drama. lol You have an awesome weekend.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Miriam February 5, 2016 / 10:44 pm

        Thanks so much. Off to a good start with a sleep in but time to get up now!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Rob and Becky February 4, 2016 / 2:36 pm

    I’m glad you were able to get a cot for your son. I’m sure he will be more comfortable. Can you use it as a couch during the day, like with pillows or something? If not, I’m sure it’s still worth it, but figure you are utilizing every inch of space you have.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 5, 2016 / 10:26 pm

      Thank you. I think the cot was brilliant. My hubby is the one who suggested it. It is very comfortable and I can already see where son is getting better sleep. We could use it like a couch if we wanted, but we have our two chairs that the neighbor gave us that we sit in mostly. It made more space for us to use too. We are able to take more things that are just out and about and store them under the cot. I also got a bed skirt and put down before we put the mattress on it so that you cannot see under the cot. lol I might be stuffing stuff there, but I sure dont want it visible.

      Like

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 6, 2016 / 3:47 pm

      It looks awesome. The bed is now not as high as it was and looks much neater now. Not as cluttered. I have other ideas for the place, just trying to figure out my execution of them. Lol. I will try to post a picture of the bed next week.

      Like

  4. Rob and Becky February 6, 2016 / 7:30 pm

    Awesome! I expect I will be in my camper for at least 2-4 weeks between houses, so I’m taking notes! Today, I’m having Lovana make up some pizza crust mixes for the camper, to make it easy to make pizza when we go camping (whether or not the house sells quickly, we will definitely go camping once the repair work is done on the camper–we love going)

    Like

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 8, 2016 / 7:28 pm

      I think the major issue would be making sure that the roof is re-sealed. If our roof had been resealed years ago, we wouldnt have a soft, bad roof. I have a few other things up my sleeves too that I am going to talk about this week. lol Did you see my post about pizza in the crockpot? I have made some really good foods in the crockpot. We love camping too. lol But after we move from here (no plans in sight yet), it might be a while before we camp again.

      Like

Leave a Reply

