Fat Tuesday Remodel

image

Happy Fat Tuesday!!  I sure do miss Fat Tuesday and going to the parades when I lived in Biloxi, MS.  I do not, however, miss all of the drunk and obnoxious people that go with it.

I have been working on a few things around the “condo”.  The first thing that I have been working on is our bathroom.  The shower curtain that was hanging is one that came from the factory when the “condo” was built.  It sticks to us when we get into the shower.  I know part of the problem is our big ole butts. HEHE  Hubby had to get his drill out and remove the old shower curtain track from the ceiling.  We went to several places before we were able to find a shower rod that was small enough to fit in the shower.  We wanted the rounded one, but couldn’t find one small enough.  We finally found one that you twist to make it fit the shower.  I went into Walmart (favorite place – eyeroll here!) and found the hooks, shower liner and shower curtain.  All in all, I think we spent $30 at the most.  I think it looks good considering.image

The next thing that we worked on was in the kitchen.  I found a mat that is specifically for drying dishes.  I put the top of the stove down so that I could lay the mat on it.  I place my wet, clean dishes on it so they can dry. I was having issues because I had no place to put my dishes after I washed them.  I have been using the mat for about a week now and it is working really well.  I found it at my favorite place for $4.

image
Totally not trying to show off the clean dishes – but the mat under them. lol

I also found a few interlocking, wire shelves to put behind the sink.  I had all this space that I couldn’t reach (short-leg-it is).  I was trying to keep some of our things there, but it was very disorganized and everything kept falling over and all over the place.  So we thought if we got these shelves it would help.  I really like the way they are working out in that corner. It makes it easier for me to store things and looks a little neater.  I know, I need to get rid of some of my spices and some of the utensils to clear out some space too. Lol

image
The shelves are all the way in the corner and some of my light colored “black-out” curtains!

Son has been really pushing my buttons today to get his school work done, properly and neatly!  I am making this short so that I can deal with him. Have a great day and thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

6 thoughts on “Fat Tuesday Remodel

  1. Howto$tuffYourPig February 9, 2016 / 10:35 pm

    Sounds like Walmart isn’t your favorite place to shop, but sometimes they have stuff you can’t find elsewhere.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rob and Becky February 12, 2016 / 1:25 pm

    It looks like you have quite a bit of space to work with behind that sink! I’ll bet that helps tremendously. You are getting things whipped into shape in there to be more efficient and nicer for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 12, 2016 / 10:31 pm

      There is a ton of space, but sometimes I feel like I need to get the step stool that I use to get in and out of the truck and bring it in when I need to reach back there. Most of the time, I am on my tippy toes. HEHEHE

      Like

      • Rob and Becky February 13, 2016 / 1:53 am

        I have a folding stool that I keep in the camper all the time. I am short and simply CAN NOT reach into the back of the cupboards without it. 🙂 I fold it and lay it on the bottom bunk when we travel, and keep it propped up against the wall of the slide-out when we are camping.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 13, 2016 / 5:54 pm

        Exactly – my short legs are keeping me from reaching places that I need to get to. I need to find a place where I can put the stool where it will be out of the way.

        Like

Leave a Reply

