VD Rituals

Valentines Day (VD for now on) is just hours away.  What do you usually do with your spouse or loved one on this holiday that can potentially drain you of money?  I have to be honest here – it has never been a huge day for us.  We might buy each other a card and get son a card and chocolate, but other than that – we don’t really pour a whole lot of money into it.

My most favorite VDs have been when we have made each other a card.  These mean the most to me and I put them into a box and put it up so that I can keep it forever. When we first got together many years ago, hubby brought me roses, balloons, well….the whole kit and caboodle for the day.  I immediately told him how much I loved them.  I did. They were beautiful and very thoughtful.  I waited a week or so and then told him what I really thought.  Every woman loves to get the basics on this day.  Me too!!  I really do.  I mean, I would be crazy to say that I didn’t.  HOWEVER, I prefer something that comes more from the heart.  Something that he puts thought into and makes.  Even if it is just a piece of paper, folded in half with hearts drawn on it and his own words on how he feels about our relationship. Another good one would be instead of getting me roses – get me a rose bush so that I can grow my own and have them more often!   Crazy?!?!  I know!!  Lol

The VD after son was born – we had just moved and we were broke as a joke.  I had pink and light green copy paper on my home desk that I would use sometimes for different things. It came in a pack that had 5 pastel colors in it.  He grabbed all of the pink and green one and went into our bedroom on VD.  I had no idea what he was doing.  When he came back out, he presented me with a dozen “roses” that he had made out of the paper by rolling it in a certain way.  It did look like a dozen little roses right as they are trying to open.  My heart absolutely melted that day.  I didn’t think it was possible to love him any more than what I already do.  I wish I had them with me because I would take a picture and post it.  YES – I still have them.  They are in a memory box in storage.  That is one thing that I will never part with.  I remember that my cousin came over and when she saw them, she kinda giggled that day and asked about them.  I told her that they were my VD roses that hubby made me.  She was blown away and thought it was the sweetest every.  Yes, I love my hubby. Lol

I wish I could say that I made him something this year.  I did not.  I am just not “up” to it this year.  Tomorrow will mark the 6 month anniversary of my dad’s death.  I really do not feel like being all lovey dovey and everything.  I just wish my dad was here so that I could reach out to him and tell him Happy VD day.  Ok, ok, that sounds a little perverted.  Just realized that some could take me not spelling it out the wrong way.  With that, I will bid you a good day.  I would love to see or hear about what you all are getting/doing for VD day.  Thank you for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

5 thoughts on “VD Rituals

  1. Miriam February 13, 2016 / 9:34 pm

    A quiet one for me as hubby’s away for work. You enjoy yours 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      • Miriam February 13, 2016 / 11:37 pm

        We don’t go in for the hype of it but yes, it’ll be nice to have him home and enjoy a catch up and a glass of wine together!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

