Busy busy day

Yesterday was just a busy day.  Son had a print job that he was photographed for.  They had 3 kids there.  One was there for an hour with my son and left.  Then the next lil guy was there for an hour. Son was there for both hours. Then they had to call the first little guy back because the photographer didnt photograph something right, so they kept my son during it. He was there for 3 hours.  All I can say is this kid has now earned more in three hours than I have ever earned in one day.  😦

image
Waiting to go back into hair, makeup and wardrobe.

 

 

image
Break time!!

So happy for him.  Now if I could only get him as interested in school work. lol  Which is a huge battle today.

We have more taping that we will go and do this weekend.  He is looking forward to it because this one deals with trains.  He loves trains – I hate them.  Not ready to talk about why I do, but I do.  I will address it one day though.

Tomorrow is my moms birthday.  We havent sent her birthday card off yet.  Going to do that as soon as I can get son through school.  I know, I know, sooo bad. I should have already had this in the mail. Hopefully I will get it in the mail in just a couple of hours.

I am going to go round up son so that hopefully we can get out of here in a few. Have a great day everyone.

The Perpetual Campers

 

10 thoughts on “Busy busy day

  1. Miriam February 18, 2016 / 9:39 pm

    Good for your son. He would have been tickled pink. Hope your mum has a great birthday.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 20, 2016 / 11:28 am

      Thank you! She is in another state, but when I talked with her, she seemed to be in good birthday spirits. Yes, son was tickled pink. He loves working and told me yesterday, “Mom, I need more jobs cause I need more money. A boy has to make a living in order to buy games.” LOL He loves playing his video games.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rob and Becky February 20, 2016 / 4:54 am

    I’m sure it must be gratifying when your son gets a job with his acting or photo shoots. It seems like you put a lot of time and effort into the process, so it’s a good day, I’m sure, when it pays off. Is it tedious, i.e., lots of wait time, or is it exciting to him because it’s still fresh and new? (Clearly, he likes it, I’m just curious, having never had my children do anything like that) We have done some theatre productions over the years, and they can be a lot of work, mixed with fun. As are choirs, piano recitals, dance shows, 4H fairs, etc., that we have been involved in.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 20, 2016 / 11:49 am

      What is gratifying is watching him do what he loves to do. I get comments from other people who just do not understand why I will not put him in sports. Its because he doesnt care to play baseball, basketball, football, etc. This is what he loves. He came to me a little over a year ago and told me, very seriously, that he wanted to be an actor. While asking probing questions, I got the point that he was very serious. Hubby and I drove from the area we were at all the way to Orlando (a little over an hour) to talk with an acting school that is ranked as one of the best around here. I think the owner thought we were not serious at first. We enrolled him in the school for him to start classes a month later. We then took him over to a university and had him audition for what we thought was a student film. Imagine our surprise that the very first audition he went on – he was cast as the only kid in the movie!! That kinda told us that this is his thing. We made that trip to Orlando for 16 weeks. That got him through 2 level of classes – which is very important to actors. They need to improve their craft. Yes, he still does classes when we can afford them. When hubby was having such a horrible time trying to find a job, we decided to live in our 5th wheel in the Orlando area just so son would be more near auditions, etc, and we could save gas money. Its just what works for us. So, son is my only child. That makes it more easy to get him to where he needs to be. I dont think it is tedious. I find it to be fascinating and exciting for him. Sure, there can be a lot of wait time. Usually, for commercials, etc, the wait time in an audition is about 30 minutes to an hour. These Casting Directors have been in the business for a long time and run a “well-oiled-machine”. They have done it so many times, that everything usually goes smoothly and quick. The other wait time that can be nail biting to me is waiting to see if he gets a call back or cast. I have a really hard time not taking it personal if he doesnt get a call back. lol Sometimes we never hear back at all, so that gets frustrating. I dont know if it is still exciting to him because it is still new, but I can tell you that this is what he likes to do. He prefers to be homeschooled so that he can be an actor and have a schedule wide open if they need him. He amazes me too. We sit down to watch movies, and this kid starts analyzing them. He wants to know why the director chose a certain angle, etc. Even without him trying – he just has his head in it. The other part is that it can be a little expensive. I have to keep track of everything we spend on him. Acting classes, headshots (needs new ones), clothing – everything. Gas going to classes and auditions. Hotel stays if we have to travel out of town. Once he makes a really good paycheck – we can take these expenses and start using them on our taxes. lol He hasnt gotten interested in theater yet. He really wants to be on a sitcom or a huge movie. He told me that he is just waiting on his big break and that its “going to be very soon mom, like in a few days.” lol Hopefully this wasnt rambling and answered your question. lol Its 630am and here I am up and getting ready. He has an audition this morning and then we are traveling so that he can film a pilot for an educational type sitcom that is being shopped around. No pay for this one yet – but it looks great on his resume. Yes, that lil stinker has a resume already. hehehe

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Rob and Becky February 20, 2016 / 2:38 pm

    Fascinating! We, too, have always tried to find something our children are good at and let them pursue it. One thing we have spent many, many hours at is the 4H fair. They (most of them over the years) have become quite good at winning cooking contests, horticulture flower arranging contests, etc. at that fair. While it seems odd to some that we spend some much time in preparation, etc. for a ribbon, it is so much more than that to us. It is about the child being good at something and succeeding and having that sense of satisfaction inside, plus all of the life skills they learn through these activities. So, it makes perfect sense to me that you would do acting vs. football!

    I hope it goes well for him today.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 23, 2016 / 3:45 pm

      I wish I could get him interested in things like 4-H too. They are learning things that will carry them through their life. Cooking, flower arrangements, etc – they can take and make a living with those skills. I wish more parents really listened to their children and found what they like instead of pushing them into areas such as sports. There is one mom, that I no longer talk to, that had her boys in all sports, acting, and playing band instruments for church. Between the auditions and sports – her kids just always looked tired.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist February 23, 2016 / 12:39 am

    Dear PCW. Please excuse Kay from the blogging world lately. Her mommy passed away and she is now in upstate NY taking care of business. She is so SO far behind! Will she ever catch up? She sure will try! Sincerely, Kay’s Conscience. :/

    I think it’s so great how devoted you are to your son’s career ambitions. Even when it’s boring for you, you don’t lose sight of the big picture. My best to you and your family PCW! You are doing great! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife February 23, 2016 / 3:53 pm

      Oh dear, please do not apologize. You have had your whole world turn upside down. I understand. I have been there. I knew you would be back on here when you were ready.

      It can become boring while sitting around waiting for him to go in auditions, but it is ok. There is a bigger picture there, and yes it is recognized by both his dad and me. He is such a quirky young man, and he is seen as “awkward” when he is around other boys his age that think sports and wrestling each other to the ground is cool. Because his interest are so different – he just cant relate to them and it makes acting a great outlet for him. We just want him to have a healthy childhood – for him. lol Thank you for saying we are doing great because we second guess ourselves sometimes. lol Welcome back!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

