That smells like…..onions!

Greetings my friends.  It looks as if the sun is finally coming out today and the day is half over.  WE woke up this morning with the camper being very dark.  We looked out and it had been raining for a while.  We have been in the low 80s lately, and with this rain – it should lower it to at least 75 tomorrow. lol   HUGE difference!!

I decided to cook since we were stuck inside.  Yes, Melissa – I have been using the slow cooker cookbook and will make something from it soon, and review.  I am going to make a dish I already have made from it, but it was so good it needs to be made again.  Check back during the week!!

But today was something totally on my own.  I decided that I wanted a huge bowl of french onion soup.  I already had the ingredients to make it.  Around 11am, I got to cutting.  I cut them really thin.  When I had them all cut, I then sauteed them with a little butter (real stuff, not margarine).  By 1245pm, we were taking our first bites of soup.  Hubby absolutely LOVED it.  Hey – he isnt the only one who knows how to make it.  lol  The last time it was made, he did it and all from scratch.  I made so much that we might have some for dinner too.

image
Onion soup is on the stove!

 

image
Ready!!  Bread topped with cheese was put into our toaster oven and toasted/melted and then topped on the soup.  

Yesterday was laundry day.  I thought I was going to melt at the laundry room.  It took me hours to cool off once I got back.  I always put my wash in the washer, come back to the camper and do things for about 25 minutes around here.  Then I go back and throw the laundry into the dryer and stay. Each quarter I put in is about 6 minutes.  Mostly, I put 4 quarters in each dryer and then check when done.  If not all dry, I pull out some items that are dry and restart the dryer for another quarter or two.  I fold the laundry there since there are tables.  Not much room in the camper to fold anyway.  I also take some of our shirts/shorts and hang them to dry when I get back to the camper since I dont put those items in the dryer.  So, what did I do yesterday when I got back?  I cooled off. I was so hot I just knew I was going to pass out.  Guess where the laundry is at?  Right in front of our door (inside) waiting to be put away.  Perhaps I need to put it up so we can get OUT of our camper. hehehe

Waiting on hubby.  Think in a bit we are going to head out to Disney Springs and just walk around some to get a little exercise.  Hope you all are having a great Saturday and are a little more dry than we are.  Thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

4 thoughts on “That smells like…..onions!

  1. Miriam April 3, 2016 / 8:23 am

    A hearty French Onion soup sounds delicious. Have a great week.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mrs. Optimistic April 5, 2016 / 6:30 am

    That looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 5, 2016 / 3:14 pm

      Thank you. I have never made it homemade before, and did not have a recipe to go by, but it turned out excellent. I made so much that we had it for lunch yesterday. I SOOOOO love to cook and wish I had more room to really “get down”. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

