Whats love got to do with it?

We have had some things around the camper that we really need to take care of.  I hate to say it, but we do not use the table to eat at.  Son will sit at it, but hubby and I have not.  We just do not have a lot of room.  The benches are being used as a “collect all” or storage place to put things.  lol  One of our chairs is also in the way of one of the benches.  We really do not have a lot of floor space in here.

So, the problem with son sitting at the table is that he knocks things down. I tell him to pick them up, and he does or he forgets or, well….. whatever!  Yesterday I spent time picking up things from the floor that was under the table.  I also pulled our wet/dry vac out and vacuumed the floor.  I would have used my big vacuum, but it is in storage.  So this little thing will need to just do the job.  After that, I took a bowl of hot water with carpet cleaner and a scrub brush and decided to “clean” the carpet in the living area.  It did not take very long and I used the wet/dry vac to suck up the water.  The floor was not very wet and the vacuum picked up a lot of it. I then put a little fan on it and in about an hour the carpet was dry.  The camper smelled really good too.

image

I wanted to touch on the title of this post.  Whats love got to do with it?  Everything!!  Yesterday, my hubby called from his job to talk to me during his lunch.  Very common occurrence with him. He was going on and on about this situation we are in and about the job issues he has had for over the past year.  He kept saying thank you to me for sticking with him and believing in him.  Finally I asked him, how could I not?  I mean, what was I really going to do – leave?  His response was that there are many women out there that would have been gone a long time ago.  Here is kinda how I responded to him. When I married him, I made vows with him.  In better or worse, richer or poorer, etc, etc.  (we all knows these)  If I were to just up and leave, would I take my vows seriously?  If I were to leave, then does/did this marriage ever mean anything to me?  If I knew for a fact that he was not looking for a better job or at least working, then it would be very easy for anyone to leave.  But because I believe in the vows that I have made – I stand beside them.  I believe in them and I believe in him.  Isnt that what love is all about?  The way I see it – love has EVERYTHING to do with it.

image

On that note, I need to go make lunch for my munchkin.  lol He has been telling me for over 30 minutes that he is hungry.  Coming up tomorrow, a review of a really good meal from my crockpot cookbook.

Enjoy your hump day!  Thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

13 thoughts on “Whats love got to do with it?

  1. Rob and Becky April 13, 2016 / 10:03 pm

    I was thinking just the other day that we should buy some kind of small vacuum for the camper, to suck up the crumbs, etc. It can get really bad in only a few days–I can’t imagine how it will be after living in it for a prolonged period, even if it turns out to be only a couple of weeks. I have a feeling that it will take way longer than 2 weeks to find a new home, and get into it, though. I’d say 4-6 weeks after finding one we like is a minimum. Thanks for the reminder:)

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 13, 2016 / 11:12 pm

      The one we have is the smallest and it was $20 at Walmart. We went for the wet/dry vac b/c of the rain water that was coming in. I had to get on the floor and vacuum, but I’m ok with that. Lol. I hope it won’t be longer than 2 wks for you.

      Like

      • Rob and Becky April 14, 2016 / 5:00 am

        2 weeks would feel like an extended vacation:) I think that it takes several weeks to close on a house, so first, we need to find one, then buy it. Around here, things are being sold so fast that you have to jump on it right away, which is one reason it’s not been worth it to get my heart set on any one particular house–it’s gone within days if it’s decent for my price range. So, into the camper we go, then go house hunting. I have a very low budget, so it will be hard to find what we want. This way, I can be picky and not have to take the first one that comes along, and I will also have cash so when I do find the one I want, I can buy it (hopefully).

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 14, 2016 / 4:24 pm

        They go pretty fast here too. When hubby was out of a job, it hit our credit pretty bad. We have a lot of repair we need to do, then we can look at buying. I would rather buy than rent. I am not sure how long the process is here. I know that when we do purchase – I hope it is not a long drawn out process! lol There are some areas here that are not too expensive, but I am not sure about the neighborhoods. I know that we are going to try to save a lot so that we do not have to finance a lot. lol I would say, take your time and be picky!!

        Like

      • Rob and Becky April 15, 2016 / 3:23 am

        Because my husband does not have a job, we will not qualify for a loan. We hope to have enough left over from the equity in this home to buy something outright, but not sure what that will look like, yet.

        We also do not want to rent, because every penny we can hang on to, is a bit nicer of a house we can get:) So, we are parking at my sister’s house–she has property and is being very kind to us. We will also go to state parks periodically.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 15, 2016 / 2:47 pm

        Ya’ll are lucky! I wish we had someone that would let us stay on their property. Where we are at right now, they charge us $750 a month for lot rent. Of that, $100 is for our son. Yeah, they charge extra for him. The good thing is that we have electric and water included. I just wish they would let fiber optic cables in here so we could get better internet. lol Since we have been here starting Nov 1, they are about to give us a discount on our monthly rent. We will not need to pay the taxes. State parks can be nice too. There is one that I wrote about early in my blog that ison a beach in St. Petersburg, FL. Absolutely beautiful. The site we were at had trees all around it, lots of shade.

        We will never get a loan until we get our credit cleared up. That was one of the reasons we moved into our “condo”! lol Once hubby has a really good job, we will start to be able to pay those creditors and save money to put down on a condo or home. I really do not like throwing money away, and I feel like thats what we are doing with rent. lol

        Like

      • Rob and Becky April 15, 2016 / 10:33 pm

        What? Your son walks around $100 worth? LOL! That’s crazy.

        $750 seems like quite a bit, but if that’s what it costs, that’s what it costs. It’s good you are getting a discount. State parks around here would end up being more if they had full hook-ups. We have 10 days per month we can camp for free, using our foster/adoptive park pass, so we are going to do that so we can enjoy this time as much as possible and give the kids more to do.

        My sister will let us have a hose to hook up to, and we are installing a large enough power plug so everything will work on the trailer. We plan to pitch in on the electric bill while we are there.

        The big problem is no sewer at her house. So, there is a company that does outhouses that we may rent a tank from and then they will pump it when it gets filled. Also, we will dump each time we go to a state park. We have lots of details to work out, but yes, it is extremely nice of them. They have a back yard area where we can put a picnic table, some chairs and Rob’s barbecue during our stay. By fall, we should be happily settled in our new place, hopefully.

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 16, 2016 / 3:28 pm

        Yeah, $100 extra for him. Crazy isnt it? lol Another family, who has since left, had 3 kids and 3 adults. They were paying an extra $400 a month for them. I was like – yall need to go get an apartment. It is more than what we wanted to spend. But we couldnt find one that had long term parking for cheaper. Everyone we talked with already had met their quota for long term stays. Now that it is no longer busy season, we might look elsewhere. But it is nice at this one. The front desk person can just be a complete witch sometimes. Its a give and take kinda thing.
        Water and electric are definitely a must! Sewer can be worked around. There are always places that have dump stations. I would suggest doing that about once a week or so because the smell can start to come into the camper – especially during the summer. There is a chemical that you would need (you probably already know this) to put down into the toilet the night before. Another suggestion from my friend who has an RV store is to put ice down the toilet and drive around. It will break loose anything that is stuck in place and after it has been there for a while, then go dump. I probably would do the ice thing about once a month – if you are in it for a while. Our indicator always says our tank is full. lol
        I am jealous of your picnic table and BBQ. We would do BBQ on ours – but the mosquitoes could carry us away. We walked out last night to run to the store and they attacked.

        Like

      • Rob and Becky April 16, 2016 / 11:14 pm

        That’s really annoying, isn’t it? Mosquitoes, I mean. We get some, but not very many compared to some places. I have a couple of citronella candles to light if I need to.

        We will be parking at my sister’s, making that home base, then going off on little trips to State Parks, and then back again. We can dump any time we are at a State Park, or drive down to a nearby RV park and empty our tanks, if we need to sooner. We want to make this a super fun summer, a chance of a lifetime to camp a lot more than usual, since we are going to be in the camper anyway. It will be the first time in a VERY long time that we don’t have home responsibilities that will keep us tied down–no animals, no garden at our house, no cleaning to speak of…..etc., so we want to take advantage of it and turn a sad thing into a happy one.

        We camp a lot. I’m sure it will be different staying in the camper for a longer time, but Rob’s the one who knows what to do about the septic system, water, etc. I bought a little vacuum:) I’ll do that. He gets to barbecue most meals this summer—I’ve told him—sounding better and better for me all the time.

        Like

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 17, 2016 / 4:50 pm

        It is very different. There is just a whole lot of different responsibilities. But its something that we knew was a learning process and took on those responsibilities gladly. Anything to get out of $1350/month for an apartment plus electric and water! Sounds like you are planning and are going to have a great time living in your RV for a little bit.

        Like

  2. Miriam April 14, 2016 / 1:54 am

    Lovely post. For richer or poorer, better or worse, in a camper or outside, we love these men, hey? 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

