Dinner was awesome!

Ok, so I am going to post the recipe for the steak I made last night.  It was uber good.  I did not use the type of salsa they used, but it still turned out good.

image

I purchased the flank steak that the recipe called for. My only experience with flank steak is that it is a cheaper version of steak.  Most of the time it is really tough and hard to eat.  I took the steak and beat it with the meat tenderizer.  The steak is already thin.  Its not nearly as thick as the one in the picture from the cookbook.  Not much thinner, but thinner!

Instead of using the salsa, I used tomato sauce and other seasonings.  I also took a bay leaf and put in it.  I couldnt find the whole chiles, so I used the chopped ones.

This is how mine looked when it was all said and done.  The meat was so tender that it fell apart as I tried to pull it from the crockpot.  There was never a need for any knifes. I know, I know – it didnt turn out as pretty as the cookbook picture either. lol

image

I made rice and black beans to go with it to make a complete meal.  Well, I dont eat rice, so I made mashed potatoes for me.  Son sat down and gobbled it down all within 10 minutes I think.  He absolutely enjoyed it.  Hubby and I took a little longer. Yes, we savored it. hehehe

image

I would have never thought to make this. But Melissa gave me the cookbook as a Christmas present and so glad she did. I will be making more!!

Have an awesome day and thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

2 thoughts on “Dinner was awesome!

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 15, 2016 / 2:50 pm

      Oh my gosh – it literally just fell apart. I have the hardest time with sirloin, which is supposed to be better for you. I have always enjoyed cooking with the crockpot. But it is even better now. hehe

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

