Its all in a salad.

I so didnt want to get  up this morning.  Not for a while anyway.  Hubby had to run to the grocery because we were out of half and half and needed that for our coffee addiction. lol  While there, I told him to go ahead and pick up a cucumber and purple onion.

I was thinking all day yesterday, while sitting at the filming set, just what was I going to do with those little tomatoes that I picked the other day.  Thats when it hit me that I could make a summer salad.  Not one with lettuce, but just tomatoes, purple onion and cucumber.

This morning, I took all the tomatoes and halved them.  We had nibbled on a few through the last few days.  Wish we would have had a few more to add to my salad.  I took the purple onion, sliced it in half and then thinly sliced and added to the tomatoes. I then took the cucumber and sliced it in half and cut into more halves.  That was added next.  I took about a teaspoon of apple cider vinegar and added to about 2 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil and shook those two together.  Once they were mixed, I added it to my tomato mixture.  I also added about a teaspoon of Cayenne pepper, a half teaspoon of pepper and salt, a dash of dill, parsley and dried cilantro.  I also added a single serving pack of truvia.  I like it to be spicy and a little sweet – but not overbearing.  I put this all into a bowl that as a top.  I put the top on it and  shook it really well.

image
Finished product!!  So yummy for my tummy, so yummy, so yummy!

Poor hubby was confused and asked if that was breakfast. HAHAHA  No silly, its for lunch!!  I dont know why, but after 13 years, I am not sure if I have ever made this for him.  He asked for a bite – just to make sure it was good.  We both took a small bite then I put it in the fridge to cool.  Its best to me if it chills before eating.  It passed the husband test and this is what we will have for our lunch today.  This will make my tummy a happy girl!

We might go to the pool after lunch today.  Other than that, its going to be a lazy day.  Son told me last night, “Mom, I am tired.”  I asked him why he was so tired.  “Because mom, I worked hard today!”  I told him that for most of the day, he was sitting in a school desk being filmed.  His response, “Yeah, but thats hard work!”  He had a blast filming the last few days.  The director came to me yesterday when we got there and told me just how well he thought son did the day before. He was really happy with the few lines that son did say and thought he was great at improvising.  He thought son has a funny personality and should continue to follow his dreams.  He came to me after filming and reiterated it for me. I also had another person come to me and tell me the same thing and tell me that I REALLY need to branch out to other areas (other states) and see if we can find representation there.  So, in the next week or so, I will probably start shopping his headshots out to other places.  She is like the 20th person in the business to tell us that.  I know that it was a student film, but it was really nice to have someone verify what we have either already be told or have been feeling.

Well, I am going to go and spend time with my two favorite guys!  Hope you all have a great Sunday and thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

 

4 thoughts on “Its all in a salad.

  1. SamanthaP April 24, 2016 / 9:37 pm

    That looks AMAZING! I may have to try this. We do something similar with veggies in the summer. If you like Italian dressing, cut up tomatoes , cucumbers, bell peppers and onion cover with Wishbone Italian dressing and refrigerate overnight. My kids LOVE it! I can’t keep enough made up during the summer. 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 24, 2016 / 9:41 pm

      Thank you. Yes, do try it. I think there are hundreds of different versions of this type of salad. lol They are all good!! Next time, I will need to try it with the Italian dressing. Cant get son it eat it though – he doesnt care for tomatoes. He loves onions – but not the “juicy, red things mom”. lol

      Like

      • SamanthaP April 24, 2016 / 9:43 pm

        Lol! Mine are just opposite how funny! They will pick the tomatoes right off the vine and eat them but will NOT eat an onion to save their lives. “Yuck!”

        Liked by 1 person

      • The Perpetual Camping Wife April 24, 2016 / 9:47 pm

        LOL He ate them at one time and has just decided he doesnt like them now. They go through changes with their taste. I told him when he gets older – he is going to gobble them up.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

