Caked on!

I just need to vent a little.I really miss having my washer and dryer!  I do.  I make no bones about it – I do not like going to the laundromat.  Never have and never will.  Its always hot and just yucky.  You have no idea what someone else has put in the washers.

Not only that, but our campground lets others who are NOT staying here come onto the property and use the laundromat.  They take over on the weekends and its hard for us to get a washer and dryer.  I understand why they do it.  The price for wash and dry is a little better here than it is at the local laundromat down the road.  Plus, they can pay the campground $5 per person to swim in the pool.  They like to let their kids swim while washing their laundry.  Its a great idea!  Except it intrudes on our oasis here at the campground.  We went to the pool yesterday and there was about 10 kids and 6 adults swimming that do not live here.  I wouldnt even get it. I told hubby it made me think it was human soup!  I really do wish they would not let others pay to use the pool, but they are making a little $$, so I understand.

Honestly, they probably need to make it where they can since there are a lot of vacancy here right now.  There was a lot of vacancy during the busy season too.  They are not marketing this place right and their rates are a little high.  Needless to say – its being mismanaged here.  I was also told that anytime someone complains to the owner (who I have never seen), they are quickly and quietly evicted.  This comes from an employee who we have befriended.  Didnt like the person at first – but they have warmed up to us. lol

powder-vs-liquidBoy did I get off on a tangent.  So back to the laundry.  I’m kinda peeved.  When I go to do laundry, I look in the washer and make sure there is nothing in them.  If it looks like there is something in them, like dirt, I will take a napkin and wipe it out.  A few days ago, when I was there, I didnt see anything in the washers.  I put my clothes in, put in my liquid detergent, set it and pushed my quarters in and let it do its job.  After the washer stops, the next logical thing is to put everything in the dryer. There are a few clothes that I do not dry. I hang them outside and let the sun and wind dry then naturally.  Everything looked good – or so I thought. I got my clothes back to my condo and hung them up outside.  Thats when I noticed that one of my nightgowns had caked on washing powder all on it.

Packet7
Enter a caption

Ugh!  This is NOT the first time.  It seems like it is almost every time I wash this happens.  Never the white clothes – just the colored!!  Needless to say, I brought the nightgown inside and washed it out.   But there was no indication of powder being in the bottom of the washer.  If there is any suggestions on this issue, I welcome them!!

Well, hubby is working today and son and I need to find something to do!  Working almost open to close with only one day off SUCKS for my hubby.  He technically has 20 more days  until he starts the other job, as long as he passes the drug test and then physical.  Shouldnt be an issue though!!  There is still one other place that is in the works. They sent him an email wanting to do a background check.  Then they should set up an interview, etc.  Either place would be awesome to work.  Ok, I am off of here and need to find a way to entertain my entertainer today.  Have a great day and thanks for reading.

The Perpetual Campers

 

14 thoughts on “Caked on!

  1. kay ~ the barefoot minimalist May 1, 2016 / 5:20 pm

    When we were in Florida last year and doing laundry every week at the laundromat, there was this time we were there and one of the workers was half in and half out of one of the upper dryers. I asked her what was up, because she was wiping and wiping like crazy. Someone had dried something with TAR on it and the entire inside of the dryer was caked with it. I have too many other stories of the “icks” from the laundromats. All that is just to say, I totally sympathize with you PCw! Best wishes on all of your future laundromat visits! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 1, 2016 / 5:59 pm

      I told hubby I needed a big ole tub and a wash board and I would get outside and wash them myself. Probably take me all week. lol I cant wait to be back in a house of some sorts and have my own washer and dryer back! lol

      Like

  2. davekingsbury May 1, 2016 / 6:18 pm

    I like the direct and personal way you write. Will follow. Thanks for following mine.

    Liked by 2 people

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 2, 2016 / 1:22 am

      It is a daily adventure!! Lol. That’s why I decided to write the blog. It’s amazing to see how many of us are actually living in a camper. I try to post almost daily, so stay tuned. I’m sure there will be more adventures for me to write about.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Howto$tuffYourPig May 2, 2016 / 1:39 am

    I was stuck on a trip once without a washer/dryer. I hand washed my clothing in the sink and dried it under the hand dryer. Got a LOT of crazy looks that day! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 2, 2016 / 1:44 am

      I wouldn’t have looked at you crazy!! Lol I have the laundry tripod that I can hang my laundry up to dry. I might start washing from the tub b/c I am so tired of other people’s washing powder!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Rob and Becky May 2, 2016 / 3:22 am

    Oh, boy! When we are in our camper I plan to use a laundry-mat. I hope it goes better for me. At least it will be for a short time.

    I always use liquid laundry soap because I used to get problems from the powder, at home, so I switched to liquid and it works well for me. I wouldn’t be able to control other people’s leavings, though!

    Like

  5. lbeth1950 May 11, 2016 / 11:24 am

    I love hearing about your life. How did you get started. We have a camper trailer, but I never thought of living in it. It is all one big room so it disturbs the sleeper if one of us stays up.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 11, 2016 / 3:37 pm

      My hubby lost his job March 2015 and didn’t find another until recently. My dad passed in August. I was able to get his camper and bring to FL. We decided that since it was paid for, we would live in it to reduce our expenses, especially since hubby didn’t have a job and I stay at home. It’s a 5th wheel, so we have a bedroom area, but no door. Son sleeps ok in the living area, but it is taking some time getting accustomed to!!

      Thank you for reading. I love writing my blog and just hope it can inspire others.

      Like

Leave a Reply

