Moms Day Part 1

Today, part 1, will be about my mother-in-law.  This will be my only post today.

image

My mother-in-law, Janet, passed in October 2010.  She did not get to spend many years with our son.  He remembers her, and her beautiful voice.  He was only 6 yrs old when she passed.  I did not have many years with her either.  I really wish I could have gotten to know her before she became ill.

janet
Gorgeous!!! Beautiful bride.

She absolutely spoiled my husband when he was young.  She loved being a mother.  Her other passion was singing.  She was a professional Christian singer with her twin sister and another sister.  You can read their Bio here.  Their sister made this page a while ago and still sells some of their CDs.  Yes, they made many records and toured.  They also went to other countries doing missionary work.

the-white-sisters--young-picture
The White Sisters

Janet was such a special lady and is missed so much by my husband.  He tells me many times, “I miss my mom.”  In her later years, we would go to visit her as often as we could.  If all 3 sisters were with us, they would always sing songs to our son.  How awesome is that?  To get a private concert!!!  Son has no idea just how special this is.  I do hope one day he will fully grasp all of this. I think he will.

white sisters

It is really hard for hubby to listen to his moms music.  I try to play some of their songs for son to hear. I want to always keep Janet alive for him.  She loved him soooo much.  Actually, anytime we go to thrift stores – I look to see if they have any old records just to see if there is one there that I can pick up.  I have found a few on ebay before, but I didnt have the money to purchase them.  I am not sure what has happened with all of the pictures, etc, from when they were touring.  I would LOVE to have any of it. I am not posting many private family photos just because we want to keep those memories for ourselves.

I was pulling a few places up on the internet as I was writing this and one of the places is Youtube.  You can hear some of their music that others have put on there. https://youtu.be/HQyGTAMCZ9E

I turned up the volume and started playing one of their songs.  Son came running from the bedroom area where he is playing with legos and said, “Mom, your playing MeeMaw JJs music!”  Yes, he recognizes them!!  This warms my heart.

sisters
Janet is in the middle.

She was an awesome mother and grandmother and is missed so very much!  Wishing you a Happy Mothers Day in heaven Janet!!  We love you.

mom
A trip to Disney with both MeeMaws.

Thank you all for reading.  Have an awesome day.

The Perpetual Campers

 

8 thoughts on “Moms Day Part 1

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 7, 2016 / 6:05 pm

      Thank you. Yes, like the Andrew sisters. I wonder if they ever crossed paths. Something I will need to ask Fay when I talk with her. She got a glimpse of this today and called me and was just over the moon that I would focus on them today. Very sweet ladies.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Rob and Becky May 8, 2016 / 2:09 am

    Such a legacy! What a wonderful bunch of memories you will have for your son as he gets older since he will be able to hear her sing, even though she’s gone.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 8, 2016 / 3:26 pm

      Thank you. We have a few of their CDs that Aunt Fay still sells and I will play them from time to time. He can pick her voice out immediately. He was so little when she passed, so I felt like I needed to do something to help him remember her. Hubby talks to him about things his mom would do all the time.

      Like

  2. Joanne Graybeal May 16, 2016 / 8:18 pm

    I began listening to The White Sisters on the radio as a teen when they were with Jack Wertzen then met them when I was in high school. I corresponded with Joyce for several years and then lost contact with them. Almost 50 years later we were reconnected. I visited with them several times in FL and spent quite a few days with Fay helping her. In fact I just visited with her in Salisbury, MD a few weeks ago while we were on vacation. I was able to visit Janet not too long before she passed. She was a wonderful person with a great love for the Lord and had a beautiful sweet, soothing singing voice. She left a wonderful legacy for her family and friends!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 18, 2016 / 2:27 pm

      Hi Joanne. Thank you so much for your kind words regarding Aunt Fay, Aunt Joyce and my very sweet mother-in-law Janet. It sounds like you had a few adventures with them!! I know that they absolutely adore you!! Janet is missed so very much. Brent and I tell each other almost daily how much we miss our parents. Bernie and my dad passed last year. It just never gets easier. Yes indeed, Janet left a legacy and our son takes after her with his voice. He loves to sing and is really good too. She would be so proud of him.

      Like

Leave a Reply

