Mothers Day – Part 3 and finale

image

I was so thrilled to see and read so many Happy Mothers Day post yesterday.  Being a mom is definitely a choice.  A calling!  A must!  Well, at least it is for me.  I have always wanted to be a mom.  I actually thought that I would have more than just one child, but God had other ideas!  I honestly think that He gives us exactly what we can handle – and son is probably all I could handle.  Especially with us living in this tiny camper.  There was another family that was here for a while that had 3 kids and 3 adults in a camper smaller than ours and I dont see how they did it!

Anyway, I think we all think we are doing the whole parenting thing wrong.  I question myself daily if I am being a good mom.  If I am making the right decisions for son, or if I am letting him grow and spread his wings with the decisions that we let him make.  It is a constant concern.  He appears to be a very well adjusted, funny, well mannered young man.  Of course, he always wishes that he had his own room and we were in a house – but we wish that too and it will come!!  He is very loving and always thinking about others feelings, even if it doesnt seem like it at the time.  He will replay circumstances in his head for a while and come to us and say that he was sorry, he wasnt meaning this/that, etc, etc.  My lil guy is sensitive and gets his feelings hurt very easy. He wants to be liked and included.  There has been more times than I can count over the past 11 years that he has hurt because he was not wanted around or included.  Of course, as mom, I am there to boost his confidence and build him back to where these people have tried to tear him down.  Yes, I am mama bear and I will protect if need be!

I feel so badly because this year I was not able to send my mom a mothers day card. I just did not have any extra money to do so.  We have had unforeseen circumstances that popped up and it is going to take a toll on our outflow of money this month.  So I totally failed on sending anything out to her.  But imagine my surprise when I checked the mail this weekend and received a card from mom.  The card was really sweet and I so appreciate it!!  But what really touched me was that she included this: image

She made sure to include my dad.  Now, they divorced when I was really young.  I think it was 1985!  Their relationship has not been the best over the years – to the point where they had not been around each other for a really long time.  She totally compensated for my dad.  He would have called me for mothers day, but since he is in heaven – he cant.  She didnt need to include him.  She didnt have to include him.  But her heart told her that it was something that I needed.  I miss him.  Thank you for that mom. It meant the world to me.I am tearing up just writing about it.

This,

image

is from my son! hehehe

I wish that I could say that we did something fun, exciting, etc, and special for mothers day!  But we didnt.  We lounged around the “condo” for the first part of the day.  The boys were going to let me sleep in, but I couldnt.  Hubby made coffee and pancakes for breakfast.  I was still full by lunch time.  We had to get him back to Centre Care for his physical for Disney, so we left around 1:30pm.  We checked him in and son and I sat in the lobby.  After an hour, hubby texts me and tells me that his blood pressure is high and that we will need to wait and let them check it again. If it doesnt come down, then he doesnt pass the physical.  After 2 hours, it still was not down. We left and were totally bummed!  He went to his primary today and was put on high blood pressure meds.  We will try the physical again Wednesday or Thursday and see where it goes.  Hopefully he can pass it then.  Then he will be ready to get his start date at Disney!

After we left, we decided to go to Sweet Tomatoes!  image I had a coupon that is sent to me through their Veg Club.  We get 2 adults and 2 kids with drinks for $25.  If you have never been to Sweet Tomatoes, or dont know what it is – let me tell you!  This is a buffet restaurant that has salads, soups, pasta and baked potatoes. Everything is really fresh, even the soup is prepared the same day and does not come from a can!image

image

Son loves the pasta, but we get him to eat salad too!  Hubby and I start out with salad.  You go through the line and pick all of the salad fixings you want.  They usually have a caesar salad and an asian salad at the beginning.  But the rest is however you want it. You can make it as healthy, or not, as you would like. We then move on to their soups and potatoes after we have eaten our salads.  They also have focaccia bread that son calls pizza. lol  It was a great place to go for mothers day, especially when you dont have a whole lot to spend anyway and truth be told – we probably shouldnt have gone.  I am connecting to the internet through my phone (using my data) because our internet has been turned off!!  Kinda hard to get it going due to the unforeseen issue this month.

Well, I do hope that you all had an awesome Mothers Day!  Thank you so much for reading!!

The Perpetual Campers

 

 

8 thoughts on “Mothers Day – Part 3 and finale

  1. Rob and Becky May 10, 2016 / 2:14 am

    I like Sweet Tomatoes, too, but haven’t been there for a long, long time. I’m glad you got to go yesterday. I’m sorry you are having extra expenses.

    Hopefully, your hubby will get that blood pressure down and get the job. Mine always goes up when I walk through the door of the dr.’s office, I get so nervous. Maybe he will be more relaxed next time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 10, 2016 / 2:30 am

      He should do better. I told him its white coat syndrome, but it’s also stress with the mess we are in. Lol. Our food assistance from the govt got messed up and we don’t get anything for this month,Manichaeism means we pay everything with our own money. It’s something we have to pay for!! We will go back either Wednesday or Thursday morning for another check to get cleared. At least it wasn’t a “no”. He can work as long as he gets the pressure down. He checked it tonight at CVS and it was already 30 points lower on the top. He should be good to go.

      It has been a while since we have been, but sweet tomatoes has always been a fav of mine too. Even though we didn’t really have the money to go, it was nice to just eat out. Lol

      Like

      • Rob and Becky May 10, 2016 / 4:24 am

        You have to pay for the physical? I’m not quite understanding–sorry.

        I’m glad the blood pressure is already coming down. Stress will make it go up, so hopefully, he can breathe!

        I’m sorry your food $ got messed up. I hope you have a few things squirreled away to tide you through until they get it figured out. Hopefully, that won’t take very long.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Perpetual Camping Wife May 10, 2016 / 1:22 pm

    OMGosh – I just went back and reread what I wrote. I have no idea what my phone auto corrected to. Its crazy. I am on my phone doing this and I cant always see what I am typing b/c the screen is little. lol No, we do not pay for the physical. I was saying that our money is being used on our grocery bill this month – its something that we will need to pay for instead of having govt assistance. I will be so glad when we will no longer need their assistance. We dont have much squirreled away, as food goes, because we dont have room. We will be eating a lot of beans!! lol

    Like

  3. Rob and Becky May 10, 2016 / 9:38 pm

    That sure happens to me, sometimes, too! It drives me nuts–It always changes my husband’s name to Ron, for whatever reason:)

    You should read The Prudent Homemaker blog. I think she could squeeze food out of a rock!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Perpetual Camping Wife May 10, 2016 / 11:36 pm

      I will look her up! I usually am really good with economizing, but this is just beyond. On top of it, we had our cable and internet turned off. Cant afford to pay it. Still hooking up through my phone, but I have no idea how much longer that will last. Then I guess we will go to the library. lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

