Utter Disbelief

download

I started writing this a few days ago, and I just couldnt.  It appears as if things are just getting worse in my city Beautiful!  I am going to take you on a small timeline of what it has been like for me over the last few days.

Saturday morning, hubby woke up early because he had to be at work at 730am.  I got up only because the call of nature was pounding on my bladder.  It sucks getting older sometimes.  lol  So I stumbled down our few steps with one eye opened and one ear closed.  I had every intention of going back to sleep.  It was about 6am.  As soon as I opened the door to the bathroom, my hubby told me that there was a mass shooting at a nightclub downtown.  Ok, that got my attention and I was rocked out of sleep FAST!  I went into the living area and sat down to watch everything that was unfolding around me.

My first thing to see was the woman just crying and asking where her son was at, that he was in there….I dont need to tell you all. We have all seen her on TV and it appears as if she was one of the last to find out that her son was one of the casualties.  I was glued to the TV. I didnt understand why this was happening. We didnt have answers.  Our law enforcement did not know much at this point.  All we knew is that a man, who acted alone, went into a nightclub and shot people.  At this point – thats all I need to know about him.  Crazed radical!

I literally kept it on the same channel all day and watched nothing BUT the coverage.  My facebook came up at one point with an invite for me to “check-in” and let my friends and family know I was ok.  Well, they should know!  I do not frequent night clubs very often and am usually in bed when this all went down.

The next day, hubby didnt have to be to work until 230pm.  We needed to go to the store and get a few things.  I can tell you that this is the first time i have been to the grocery and witnessed what I did.  Usually there is a lot of noise going on in the store.  Kids are always acting like kids and there is just a lot of noise.  On this day – it was like being in a library.  There was a lot of somber people walking around.  This is something that has totally touched the lives of everyone in our community.

I watched and watched and saw where they have released the names of everyone who did not make it through that night.  Oh Lord!  I am so heartbroken for the families that are laying their loved ones to rest.  I pray for the ones who are still in the hospital recuperating and having surgeries.  I also pray for the ones who were there that night and were able to make it out alive by the grace of God.

Pray for my community, for my city – the City Beautiful.  We are strong and we will overcome this – it just might take a while.  I did not know anyone that was there that night.  But I have friends who lost friends and loved ones.  Pray for them.  Be on the lookout.  Always be on high alert. If it can happen here – it can happen where you are. Never ever ever let your guard down.  #OrlandoStrong

orlando

Orlando1
Beautiful people!  Casualties of terrorism.

The Perpetual Campers

One thought on “Utter Disbelief

  1. Miriam June 16, 2016 / 1:12 am

    Such a sad time. Thoughts and prayers are with those who lost their loved ones.

    Like

Leave a Reply

